Chinese potatoes! Hooray!

So last night I attempted to cook a recipe for Sichuan Chili Stir-Fried Potatoes that I found on NPR’s website. You can find the article on Indian-Chinese cuisine, the recipe I made and a couple more recipes here:
http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=122497091
I will also post the recipe we made here on the blog. I say “we” because I had a little kitchen helper last night. Danny came over and cooked with me. And actually I was more like the kitchen helper because I basically just read the recipe and he did most of the work. He and his family are apparently quite the kitchen experts and I just end up feeling rather stupid when I am cooking with him. However I watch a lot and and learn from my observations. So special kudos to Danny for helping me!

Here’s the recipe:

Sichuan Chili Stir-Fried Potatoes
(serves 4 …or 2 very hungry 20-somethings)

4 small boiling potatoes (Yukon Gold)
1 1/2 tablespoons of vegetable oil (we used olive oil because it’s way more awesome)
2 garlic cloves, peeled and sliced
1/2 a small red onion, peeled and sliced
1/4 teaspoon of red chili flakes
1 teaspoon red chili paste
1 teaspoon soy sauce
1/2 teaspoon sugar
8 Sichuan peppercorns, crushed (we couldn’t find these so we didn’t use them)
2 teaspoons of cornstarch
1/4 cup of vegetable stock
salt
1 tablespoon lemon juice (we squished the juice out of half a lemon)
1 scallion, white and green part, thinly sliced

1. Bring lightly salted water to boil in a saucepan.
2. Peel and cut each potato into 8 and 12 wedge pieces.
3. Boil the potatoes until almost done. When you stab them with a knife they should still have a little bit of resistance. Drain and set aside.
4. Heat the oil in a wok over high heat. Add the garlic and saute until lightly brown. Add the onion and saute till slightly soft.
5. Stir in the chili flakes and red chili paste.
6. Add the potato wedges and toss well.
7. Add the sugar, soy sauce and peppercorns. Toss again.
8. Blend the cornstarch and the vegetable stock. Mix into the potatoes.
9. Cook till the sauce has thickened.
10. Salt to taste.
11. Add the lemon juice and scallion. Mix well. Serve hot.

2 thoughts on “Chinese potatoes! Hooray!

Leave a Reply

