Peanut Chili Dip

So I’ve been doing my cooking semi-faithfully (emphasis on the “semi”) but neglecting to post what I’ve been doing. I know, I’m an awful person. I really need to keep up with these things better but I’m in the midst of the semester from hell so I’m doing what I can. I have a feeling that summer will bring me more free time (and super fresh veggies) to do my culinary experiments. And read. And write. Ah. I can’t wait.

So I wanted something to take to Republic of Word one night. Since my house is a bit small to host I thought I’d bring something snack-y to help someone else out. So I bought vegetables to cut up and then I got out one of my handy vegetarian cookbooks, “The 15 Minute Gourmet Vegetarian” by Paulette Mitchell and found a recipe for veggie dip. And now here comes the recipe…

Peanut Chili Dip
(Makes 2/3 cup)

Ingredients:
1/3 cup peanut butter (smooth or crunchy…I used smooth this time)
3 tablespoons water (or as needed)
2 tablespoons soy sauce
2 tablespoons lemon juice
2 teaspoons honey
1 teaspoon minced garlic
1 tablespoon chili powder
Dash of red pepper flakes

1. Combine the peanut butter and water in a bowl. Add water as needed to make a smooth, creamy paste.
2. Stir in the remaining ingredients.

Simple eh? And it tastes really good (I even ate it with sliced up apple wedges). It also gets better if you let it sit for a day. Here’s the necessary picture of the finished dip complete with chunk of carrot and the book I got the recipe from…

Peanut Chili Dip

Leave a Reply

