A Tofu Scramble for You

So during Spring Break I decided to open my “Vegetarian Times Complete Cookbook” (compiled, evidently, by the editors of the magazine and a gal named Lucy Moll) and pick a recipe out of it to try. I hadn’t tried anything from it yet simply because most of the recipes have no accompanying pictures and that makes me a little nervous. How am I supposed to know what it looks like? What if I screw it up utterly? But then again a recipe is (usually) an easy thing to follow. So I picked what looked like the easiest recipe in the book to try. It was a simple recipe for a tofu scramble.

Carrot and Tofu Scramble
(serves 4)

Ingredients:
2 tablespoons of oil
1 pound of carrots, grated
1/3 cup soy sauce
1/3 cup sesame seeds
1 teaspoon dark sesame oil

1. Heat the oil on medium in a skillet and cook the carrots, stirring, for 15 minutes.
2. Add the tofu and cook, stirring, until the carrots are soft. About 5 minutes more.
3. Add the soy sauce and the sesame seeds. Cook 1 minute more.
4. Stir in the sesame oil. Serve hot.

Carrot & Tofu Scramble

The only problem was that I put too much soy sauce into the stuff and so it was super super salty. I recommend NOT doing that. REALLY. Even though it was so salty it was still good. But anyway…learn from my little lesson. Haha!

Leave a Reply

