Vegetable Chowder

Wanted to cook last night (because I need to cook myself more often and stop being so lazy and just eating a piece of bread for dinner…it’s SO NOT HEALTHY) but wasn’t sure what I should try to make. Someone suggested chowder and since I’ve never made it before I thought that sounded like a great idea. Since I was at the office and away from my trusty cookbooks I decided to look online for a recipe. The first result in my Google (which is evidently Topeka now….hmm…Oh Google…you and your April Fools day jokes) search was a website http://www.chowderrecipes.net so I just used a recipe for Vegetable Chowder from that website. I don’t know what is supposed to go into chowder since I don’t think I’ve ever actually had it or seen anyone make it, but I thought it turned out yummy and in the end that’s all that matters.

Vegetable Chowder (from chowderrecipes.net)

2 tablespoons Butter
2 Onions, chopped
3 Carrots, finely chopped
4 cups Vegetable Broth, canned or homemade
1/2 teaspoon Ground Thyme
1/2 teaspoon Ground Sage
4 Potatoes, peeled & diced
2 cups Half & Half
4 cups Corn Kernels
3 tablespoons Cornstarch
3 tablespoons Sherry
1 1/2 teaspoons Salt
pinch of Fresh Ground Black Pepper
Chives, finely chopped

1. Melt 2 tablespoons butter in large saucepan over medium heat.
2. Saute onions and carrots until tender.
3. Add thyme, sage, and chicken broth to vegetables.
4. Bring to a boil.
5. Add potatoes, half and half, and corn.
6. Simmer 15 minutes.
7. In small bowl, mix sherry with cornstarch, until cornstarch dissolves.
8. Stir cornstarch mixture into. Add salt.
9. Eat! (Nom nom nom!)

I thought it turned out really well. It was pretty delicious. You can ask Lydia and Mike who were at my house while I was cooking and partook in some of the soupy goodness.

Vegetable Chowder (recipe courtesy of http://www.chowderrecipes.com)


The only thing I didn’t do was use the chives. Mainly because I decided that I couldn’t be bothered to find them in the grocery store. HA!
And now the obligatory chowder photo….

Leave a Reply

