Moroccan Chickpea Soup

I love soup. I think it might be my most favorite thing to eat ever. So naturally I make a lot of it. Tried this the other day and it turned out just SPECTACULAR. I encourage all of you to make this.

Moroccan Chickpea Soup

Moroccan Chickpea Soup


Ingredients:
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 carrots, coarsely grated
1/2 cup finely chopped onion
1 teaspoon minced garlic
1 (15 oz) can chickpeas, drained & rinsed
3 cups vegetable stock
1/3 cup tahini
2 tablespoons lemon juice
1 tablespoon minced parsley
3/4 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
1/4 teaspoon turmeric
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1. Heat the oil in a saucepan over medium-high heat. Add the carrots, onion and garlic. Cook, stirring occassionally until tender.
2. Process the chickpeas, 1 cup of vegetable stock, tahini and lemon juice until smooth.
3. Stir the pureed mixture into the saucepan. Add the remaining vegetable stock and the other ingredients.
4. Cover and cook, stirring occassionally, for 5 minutes or till heated through.

This is the recipe as it appears in my “15 Minute Gourmet Vegetarian” book. I had to do some things differently:
-I don’t own a blender or food processor so I took a potato masher and mashed the things together. Couldn’t get them too well mashed so the soup was rather chunky. I don’t mind this because I like chunkier soups.
-Couldn’t find tahini at Safeway (Curse ye Safeway!) so I added some sesame oil and sesame seeds instead.
-I also added some flax seeds, because that’s how I roll.

It was pretty dang delicious. It’s definitely in my regular soup rotation from now on.

Leave a Reply

