An Attempt at Quiche

Making Quiche in my Kitchen!

From “Vegetarian Times cookbook”

Almost-Classic Quiche with Spinach
Please note that I cheated and used a pre-prepared pie crust because I feel too lazy today to make my own. The recipe in the book, however, has a lovely recipe for a quiche pie crust that is actually not difficult to make. But when you have a pie crust lying around the temptation is just too great.

Filling:
1 teaspoon water
1 cup diced onion
1 teaspoon minced garlic
3 cups chopped spinach
1-2 tablespoons water
1 egg
2 egg whites
One 10 oz package of soft tofu (I only had firm so we’ll see how that ends up)
1 tablespoon prepared mustard
1 teaspoon dried basil
¼ teaspoon ground nutmeg
¼ teaspoon salt
¼ teaspoon white pepper
1-2 tablespoons grated cheese
dill

Preheat your oven to 350F.

Filling:
1. Heat 1 teaspoon water or oil in a skillet over medium heat. Add the onion and cook, stirring 3 to 5 minutes.
2. Add the garlic and cook 30 seconds more.
3. Add the spinach and 1-2 tablespoons water. Cover. Steam until the spinach is cooked thoroughly (be careful it’s not cooked TOO much).
4. Drain the vegetables if necessary; the spread them evenly over the bottom of the prebaked pie crust.

Getting ready to whisk my ingredients.

[
In a blender (but I don’t have one so I used a whisk):
1. Whip the egg and egg whites until frothy.
2. Add the tofu, mustard, basil or rosemary, nutmeg, salt, white pepper, and cheese.
3. Blend until very smooth, about 1-2 minutes.
4. Pour the egg-tofu mixture over the vegetables in the pie crust.
5. Sprinkle some dill on top.
6. Bake until slightly puffy, about 40 minutes.
7. Let cool 5-10 minutes before slicing.

Combine & bake


Things I did differently:
–This original recipe calls for broccoli as the main veggie. I didn’t have any broccoli but I did have some spinach that I really needed to finish up eating so I put that in instead.
–The dill was my own idea.
–The recipe called for soft tofu but I only had firm tofu. I can only imagine that the only real difference is that with soft tofu the recipe has a more fluid consistency.
–I don’t own a blender (yet) so I beat the ingredients together in a bowl with a whisk.
–I didn’t make my own pie crust (sorry guys!).

Leave a Reply

