Attempting Sun-Dried Tomatoes

So my dear friend Giovannina attempted to explain to me the subtle workings of creating sun-dried tomatoes. And since I had 10 tomatoes in my fridge (shut up, I love tomatoes, that’s not too many) I decided to try to recreate them from her verbal instructions the day before I left for Alaska. What she said seemed pretty simple, but I’m also pretty sure I didn’t do it completely right.

Into the oven little tomatoes!


I believe her instructions went something like this (please correct me if I’m wrong, Gi):

1. Cut up your tomatoes into slices.
2. Drizzle olive oil on a baking sheet.
3. Spread the tomatoes on the baking sheet.
4. Sprinkle whatever herbs & spices you prefer over top.
5. Drizzle olive oil over top of the tomatoes.
6. Put in the oven on 250-300 F for 4 hours (or till they’re ready).

I think I was actually supposed to take out the seeds and juicy pulpy-ness too, but I totally forgot. I also think perhaps I should’ve left them in the oven longer than I did because they were still rather juicy when I took them out. However for a first attempt and trying to remember what Gi told me a few days prior I was not completely disappointed.

Herbs/Spices that I ended up putting on:
-Basil
-Oregano
-Italian Seasoning
-Salt
-Black pepper
-Chili powder
-Dill
-Garlic powder

Haven’t eaten these yet. I was trying to use up all my veggies in some way before I left for Alaska so these ended up being shoved in a gallon ziploc bag and stored in my freezer from which I will retrieve them when I want to use them (I’m thinking pizza night when I return to Flagstaff in August).

One thought on “Attempting Sun-Dried Tomatoes

Leave a Reply

