Hamburger?! On MY blog?! What IS this?!

So I’m vegetarian, but Jake and Oran are not. Bearing that in mind as well as the fact that they both work in construction and work VERY hard…I am not opposed to cooking meat for them. In fact, I think it’s rather necessary for me to make them meat or beans or something protein-y so that they can work as hard as they do. So this is a post for stuffed hamburgers that I made them one day last week.

Stuffed Hamburgers

1 lb. of ground beef

Stuffing:
1 small-medium onion
1 large tomato
salt
black pepper
chili powder
garlic powder
garlic-chili sauce
dried basil
BBQ sauce
olive oil (just a drizzle)

The stuffing, before I mixed it up.


1. Combine all the stuffing ingredients in a bowl and mix together with either a spoon or your hands (I do this with my hands). Let it stand for 15-30 minutes.
2. Create a hamburger patty with the ground beef (not TOO big because it’s going to end up HUGE anyway, not TOO small because you don’t want it to break apart while you’re cooking it). Put 2 spoonfuls of the mixture on top.
3. Create another hamburger patty. Place it on top of the stuffing-topped patty and work at closing the hamburger up around the edges. This is going to be one HUGE burger.
4. Cook it, in whatever way you see fit. I usually like to fry these things in a pan because then I feel like I can control them a little better and make sure they don’t break apart. However, we had no stove here so we made these on the grill. It was much harder to keep them together. You can try whatever you want.

Things I do differently:
Okay, so usually I put a small green pepper in there too (sweet bell pepper) but we didn’t have any at the house that day. I also usually put in mushrooms but neither Jake nor Oran likes mushrooms so I left them out.

Leave a Reply

