Stuffed Peppers

So when I was a little kid I loved it when my mom made me stuffed peppers. She always did hers in a slow cooker and the smell of the peppers cooking was always SO awesome. I decided to make them for “The Boys” one day. Now since I’m a vegetarian I make them without meat. They still taste amazing. However if you want to make them as my mom did then you just substitute a pound of hamburger for the beans.

Into the slow cooker with ye!


Stuffed Peppers

4 green bell peppers (not hot ones)
1 can black beans (or meat, or whatever kind of bean you like)
rice
1 large onion, chopped
ketchup
black pepper
chili powder
garlic powder
salt
A1 steak sauce
olive oil (just a small drizzle)

1. Cut the tops off of the bell peppers, clean out the insides, set aside.
2. In a mixing bowl, combine the rest of the ingredients. I no longer measure things. I just sort of “know” how much of each thing to put in. You do want a lot of ketchup though….I would say at least 1/4 a cup…because the rice soaks that up and cooks it into itself. I put in A1 steak sauce because it kind of tricks you into thinking there’s meat in this when there’s really not.
3. With a spoon or your hands (whatever, I mix with my hands) mix the ingredients together. Let the mixture sit for 10-20 minutes to sort of marinate in its own juices.
4. Fill the hollow peppers with the mixture.
5. Arrange the peppers upright in the slow cooker. Add some water in the bottom 1-2 cups, I’d say. The rice is going to draw that out over the time it cooks and use it to plump itself up all nice.
6. Set the slow cooker for 8 hours. My mom likes to start it on high and then turn it low for the last few hours. I set it on high for 5 hours and then switched it to low for the rest of the time. You might have to adjust depending on your slow cooker.

Finished!


Some things to mention:
-The recipe is for 4 peppers because that is the magic number (it seems) that will fit snugly upright in the slow cooker without falling over (you do not want your peppers to fall over). Remember when choosing peppers that the best ones for this will be slim and tall so you can get lots of good filling into them.
-Make sure you add enough water on the bottom. You don’t want your peppers to scorch. You also want to have enough water in there so your rice will cook.
-You can add other veggies etc. to this, obviously. This is just the simple recipe that mom used to make and that I have copied from her. If I’d had tomatoes and corn handy I probably would’ve added those too. Give it a go.

Please enjoy this picture of Jake eating one of the peppers. It’s about time he was on my blog in a picture OTHER than the one in which he’s wearing my apron (he’ll never forgive me for that…hehehe).

Jake eats a stuffed pepper

One thought on “Stuffed Peppers

  1. i love stuffed peppers, but have never made them in a slow cooker… will try this the next time i make them. look tasty, mwnam nam nam.

Leave a Reply

