Almond-Vanilla Cream Cheese Frosting

Just beat it (the frosting)

So I was baking muffins last week at Jim & Karen’s house and we decided we needed a really sinful cream cheese frosting to go with them because they were pumpkin-y and rich. I’d never made cream cheese frosting before but Karen gave me instructions and it’s so surprisingly simple that I’m shocked that anyone ever buys the store-bought kind in supermarkets.

Cream Cheese Frosting

1 block of cream cheese
powdered sugar
flavoring of your choice

1. We microwaved the cream cheese for 30 seconds to soften it enough that we could mix it.
2. Beat the cream cheese and sugar and flavoring together with a mixer till it reaches the consistency that you want it to be.

Jake's sister Hallie & her friend River make an appearance as the egg-beater lickers.


Some notes:
-If it’s too thick you can always add in a little liquid, like milk. However in this recipe a little really does go a LONG WAY. So I suggest adding in only a tiny little dribble or two and then attempting to beat the mixture again. You could also add more flavoring if you don’t mind it being a little stronger.
-My frosting was Almond-Vanilla because I had those two extracts at my disposal and decided to see what I could do with the both of them. Obviously this can be tailored to whatever you want.
-I remember very vaguely when I was little and my mom would make frosting for cupcakes and use food coloring to change the color for various holidays. So if you’re using this recipe for a special occasion you also might want to think of that.

One thought on “Almond-Vanilla Cream Cheese Frosting

Leave a Reply

