Tex-Mex Pinto Beans

They look gross but I promise they were lovely!

I’ve been cooking a lot for “the guys” (Jake & Oran) here in Alaska but haven’t been posting it. This is what I made last week. I’ll be posting a lot the rest of the week, probably a new entry or two every day. Much love to y’all who follow this blog & apologies for not keeping up so well lately.
The following is a recipe from the Betty Crocker “Slow Cooker Cookbook” that Oran has at his house and from which I’ve been taking recipes to try since slow cookers are so much of amazing-ness.

Tex-Mex Pinto Beans

1 lb. dried pinto beans (rinsed & sorted)
1 large onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, chopped
6 1/2 cups water
1 tablespoon chili powder
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper

1. Mix ingredients in a slow cooker.
2. Cover and cook on high heat 7-9 hours or till beans are tender.

God I LOVE how easy slow cookers are!
Okay, things I did differently:
-Added 2 tomatoes to the mix
-Added another clove of garlic because I know Jake loves garlic
-Added more chili powder because I know Jake likes spicy food
-There’s no 7-9 hours of high heat on Oran’s slow cooker so I did 10 hours on low heat
-Added a little chili-garlic sauce (just 1/2 a teaspoon) to see how that would change the heat

Leave a Reply

