Some kinda Spaghetti with Tofu

Finally found where I’d put this picture on my computer and can now post this entry. Before I left for Alaska I tried to use up all my perishable food items. Some things I had to leave for Shelley & Barry (hope you guys had a lot of good eating) but I was able to use up a block of firm tofu with this spaghetti recipe.

Basically what I did was this:

1. Drain a block of firm tofu and set aside for the moment. Cook the spaghetti however you like it and drain.
2. Return the spaghetti to the pot and add in some olive oil. This should be enough to cover most of the spaghetti with a little bit of oil but not too much as you don’t want this to be unpleasantly oily.
3. Add whatever spices you see fit. This time I added in some salt, pepper, dried basil, dried oregano, and dried Italian herbs.
4. Let it sit for a few minutes and then turn it on the lowest heat possible and start stirring to make sure it doesn’t burn to the bottom of the pan. Do this for 3-5 minutes, or till you feel like the spaghetti and oil are soaking up enough of the herb-y goodness.
5. Crumble the block of firm tofu into the spaghetti, stirring to mix it in with the noodles and spices. Sometimes at this point I add in a dash or two of apple cider vinegar, just because it’s healthy and I happen to like the acidic taste.
6. Once the spaghetti and tofu is warmed all the way through add in 1/2 a cup to 3/4 of a cup of whatever cheese you see fit. This is optional. It tastes just as good without the cheese, however, if you’re not used to the taste of tofu the cheese can help convince you that you’re not ACTUALLY eating tofu.

Anyway, that’s basically what I did. Every time I make spaghetti it happens differently depending on what I set out to do and what I have in my house to do it with. Usually spaghetti is a quick meal for me when I’m not sure what else to cook or don’t have much time.

Spaghetti

Leave a Reply

