Lentil and Mixed-Veggie Casserole

Another try at a slow cooker recipe this week. I don’t know why, but most of the recipes in this cookbook come out super bland. I was telling Jake that I had to add extra stuff to this and it STILL didn’t come out tasting like much. We have decided that maybe this is a cookbook targeted towards an extremely busy elderly crowd. Anyway, this recipe, if bland is at least really healthy since it contains lentils.

Ingredients:
1 pound dried lentils
2 cans veggie broth
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1 bag frozen California mixed veggies
1 can cream of celery soup

1. Mix lentils, broth, salt, and pepper in the slow cooker.
2. Cover & cook on low heat for 2-2 1/2 hours or till lentils are tender.
3. Stir in veggies and soup.
4. Cover & cook on low heat for 30 minutes or till veggies are tender.

Some things I did:
-I tasted it when it was 30 min to finish and it tasted so bland that I added in some extra salt, some garlic powder and some paprika. That helped. If I were doing this again I’d cut up some REAL garlic and throw in some onion as well to give it a bit more flavor.
-The recipe in the book said to use Cream of MUSHROOM soup, but as many of you know, Jake and Oran don’t like mushrooms so I subbed in the cream of celery. I think next time I’d use cream of chicken…well…I’m a vegetarian so I wouldn’t, but if I was making it for someone else I think that’d help the taste.
-A word to the wise: Keep some cheese handy when you make this. Have a feeling that sprinkling some cheese on the top of everyone’s bowl of this stuff would’ve also helped.

Sorry, I’m slacking and totally forgot to take a picture of this so I’m going to post it anyway. I know, I know, shame on ME.

One thought on “Lentil and Mixed-Veggie Casserole

  1. Yo! So, I cook a lot with lentils and it is really really hard to make ANYTHING with lentils not bland… they are just a not-particularly-flavorful legume, I guess. Seriously, if you want flavor, douse those things in spice. Maybe stick a bay leaf or two in the slow cooker with it, that might add some good flavor to this particular recipe? There’s a great Lentils & Cheese recipe in everyone’s favorite menno cookbook, the More with Less… I think you’d like it.
    peace out,
    other erin

Leave a Reply

