Stuffed Flank Steak

One of the culinary achievements of my summer was making this stuffed steak that I saw in one of Karen’s cooking magazines. I offer you here, on this blog, the recipe and all the mistakes that I made so you never have to make them yourselves.

Frying up the stuffing mixture


One thing I wish I’d known before this recipe is how to buy meat, specifically that of the steak variety. I went to the butcher’s counter in the local grocery store and told him the kind of steak that I needed and the amount and he gave me two pieces equaling that. What I didn’t think of (which now that I look back on the exchange, I should’ve thought of this right away) is that the recipe calls for a SINGLE piece and that two pieces was probably not the best idea. So that meant that I had to skewer the meat on TWO sides. Since I had to do that, I didn’t feel so confident putting the meat on a grill so I ended up broiling/baking it instead. This wasn’t a bad move, it still tasted great (I didn’t eat it OBVIOUSLY, but Jake and Oran did), it’s just a different way of doing things.

So onward with Le Recipe:

Marinating


Stuffed Flank Steak

To make the stuffing:
Creole Hash Brown Stuffing:
4 strips thick-sliced bacon, diced
2 cups shredded potatoes (I bought frozen hash browns)
1/2 cup diced red bell pepper
1/2 cup diced yellow bell pepper
1 tablespoon minced garlic
2 teaspoons Creole or Cajun seasoning (I used the Creole)
1 teaspoon paprika
1 cup diced Pepper Jack cheese
1 bunch of scallions, trimmed

1. Cook the bacon in a pan over medium heat till crisp. Set bacon aside and return drippings to pan.
2. Add potatoes to the same pan in a single layer. Do not stir.
3. Cook until they brown (about 10 min).
4. Stir once and let them cook another 3 minutes.
5. Add the bell peppers and saute the mixture till the peppers begin to soften.
6. Stir in garlic, Creole seasoning and paprika. Cook 2 minutes.
7. Remove mixture from pan and let it cool to room temperature.
8. Add cheese and stir to combine.*

*In the recipe it didn’t say to add the bacon pieces back into the mixture. However I thought it was kinda criminal NOT to do that. I guess you can do whatever you feel is tasty.

To Prep the Steak & Marinade:
1/2 cup dry red wine
1/2 cup soy sauce
2 tablespoons minced garlic
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1 tablespoon of tomato paste
1 teaspoon black pepper
1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1 1/2 pound flank steak, trimmed
1 recipe of stuffing (above)
salt and black pepper

Stuffed and ready to seal


1. Combine wine, soy sauce, garlic, brown sugar, tomato paste, black pepper and pepper flakes in a large bowl (the recipe says to do this all in a plastic bag, but I didn’t have a bag big enough for this so I used a bowl and it worked just as well).
2. Stir till the ingredients are all dissolved/mixed.
3. Cut the steak open like a book. (Remember, you do this because you’re going to skewer this like a burrito).
4. Marinate the steak in the mixture for at least 30 minutes. (I did mine for 2 hours)

Let's pop this bad boy in the oven!


Putting it all together:
1. Spread the stuffing evenly onto 2/3 of the cut side of the meat.
2. Place scallion bunch in the middle of the stuffing layer.
3. Roll steak around the stuffing so the edges just overlap.
4. Weave a skewer through the steak edges to seal the roll.
5. Either grill the little devil (paying careful attention to getting the meat properly cooked on all sides) or broil/bake it at 350 F. I baked mine and poured the extra marinade into the pan to create a little sauce.

After it cooked a bit I added the extra stuffing and some cut up apples. Yum!

I made Jake cut it up. Ha!

Almost makes me wish I ate meat.

One thought on “Stuffed Flank Steak

  1. Pingback: Red Pepper Soup with Balsamic Reduction « A Poet in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

