Corn-Quinoa Salad

Quinoa is even better than I thought it'd be!

One of the things I’m focusing on for this term (besides learning to cook the various squash in existence) is trying new grains. Or rather trying to COOK new grains since I’ve already tried things like barley but never actually attempted cooking them myself. The grain in this recipe is quinoa and it falls under both categories in that I have never cooked OR tasted it before. This is a really healthy grain though and full of good nutrients for vegetarians and meat-eaters alike.

Since Mike had a bunch of leftover Bacon Mac & Cheese (that I cannot eat) and I had some leftover Tofu Loaf (kinda like meatloaf…the recipe for that will be posted in the next few days) I decided to make something light so we could finish off our leftovers but still have something fresh and lovely to chew on. Jake asked for a salad so I scoured the Vegetarian Times website for a salad that would be fresh and yet interesting for me to make. I’m not having it with a boring old salad. This particular recipe caught my eye as I thought it would potentially go really well with both of the previously mentioned leftovers. It was really quite a lovely salad and we just finished off the last bit of it this afternoon for lunch.

Corn-Quinoa Salad
Ingredients:
SALAD:
1 cup quinoa, rinsed and drained
1/2 tsp. salt
1 1/2 cups fresh or frozen corn kernels (from 2 ears)
1 1/2 cups halved cherry or grape tomatoes
1 cup finely chopped red cabbage
1 cup diced cucumber
DRESSING:
1/2 cup olive oil
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
3 Tbs. maple syrup
1 Tbs. Dijon mustard
1 tsp. salt

1. To make Salad: Bring quinoa, salt, and 11/2 cups water to a boil in saucepan. Reduce heat to medium-low, cover, and simmer 20 minutes, or until water is absorbed. Set aside, covered, 10 minutes.

2. Bring 2 cups water to a boil in separate saucepan. Add corn, and cook 1 minute. Drain, and rinse under cold water. Drain again. Stir together corn, tomatoes, cabbage, cucumber, and quinoa in bowl.

3. To make Dressing: Mix all ingredients in blender until smooth. Stir into Salad.

Leave a Reply

