Eggless Egg Salad

Something crazy and momentous happened a few weekends ago. I finally bought a microwave. I don’t really like to use microwaves. They’re not the greatest for your health and I honestly don’t have much NEED for one. I heat things up on the stove or take it in to the office for my lunch during the week. And now that there are 2 people living here I don’t usually have many leftovers. But Jake has been wishing for a microwave here since we started dating, so a couple of weekends ago I decided to purchase a small one. This made him really happy.
Anyway, the one good thing for ME about having a microwave now, is that I can finally use the cookbook that I bought when I was living with The Boys my first term of grad school. It’s actually been listed on my “Cookbooks” page here on this blog, but everything needs to be made in a microwave so I hadn’t been able to actually make anything till now. The book is “PETA’s Vegan College Cookbook” and the idea is that all the recipes can be made in less than 30 minutes (utilizing canned ingredients and shortcuts like that), all in the microwave (or without cooking) and all recipes are vegan.
So today, I bring to you, the first entry on this blog from this cookbook.

Exclamation Point Eggless Salad

1 (16 oz.) package extra-firm tofu, drained, pressed and diced
1 1/4 cups vegan mayonnaise
1 cup nutritional yeast
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon pepper
mustard, to taste

1. Mix all ingredients together in a bowl.
2. Made a sandwich.
3. Eat.

Okay, okay…so this one doesn’t even need a microwave. Sorry about that. But a good majority of the recipes in this cookbook do and so the buying of the microwave was the catalyst for me to pull this cookbook out again. I promise the next recipe I make from this book will be microwaveable.

Vegan \”egg\” salad

By the way, I did actually make this entire thing vegan. I cannot stand the idea of mayonnaise and so I had found some vegan mayonnaise that was made from olive oil and flax seed (very healthy) as well as other things. I’d never tried vegan mayonnaise before so I figured this was my chance. This recipe tasted very similar to egg salad, though not 100% exactly. But the best part is that I know exactly what is in it and I know that there’s MUCH less cholestorol in this egg salad than in real egg salad. And this, this knowledge that I’m doing something that is really healthy for me, Well…that’s why I decided to be a vegetarian in the first place. And it feels pretty good. So go ahead and try this, even if you’re not a vegetarian. You may hate it and that’s fair enough. But you also may like it and that would be great.

Leave a Reply

