Spinach Couscous with BBQ Tofu

Baby spinach was on sale at Safeway this week and my heart rejoiced. I wheedled Jake into going back to the store with me twice this week to buy more spinach. And I’m glad that I did because I went back again yesterday and it wasn’t on sale anymore. Boo hoo! Anyway, we’ve been eating a lot of rad spinach-y recipes lately because of this and here’s the first one for your viewing pleasure. Taken (as is increasingly common) from the “Vegetarian Times” website, you can find the recipe online here! One thing to note that I did differently here is that since I didn’t have any baked tofu in my house currently, I drained a block of extra firm tofu to use. I thought about baking it and then I thought about how lazy I felt that particular night. Guess which one won out? Ha! Anyway, I can imagine that the perk of baked tofu is that it is much firmer and more like meat, but the extra firm stuff did all right. Jake even humored me by eating a bit of it, which is interesting since he hates tofu. He’s pretty good about trying stuff like that.

Spinach Couscous with BBQ Tofu

1 1/2 cups couscous, preferably whole grain
2 Tbs. nonhydrogenated vegan margarine
5 to 6 oz. baby spinach, well rinsed
1 1-lb. pkg. baked tofu, any variety, diced
1/2 cup natural or smoke-flavored barbecue sauce

1. Cover couscous with 3 cups boiling water in heatproof serving container, and let stand 10 minutes; fluff with fork. Stir in margarine and salt and pepper to taste.
2. Place spinach in large, wide skillet with only water clinging to its leaves. Cover, and steam about 1 minute, or just until wilted.
3. Remove spinach, and coarsely chop. Stir into couscous.
4. Combine tofu and barbecue sauce in skillet. Cook over medium-high heat, stirring often, 4 to 5 minutes.
5. Scatter tofu over couscous, and serve.

Spinach Couscous with BBQ Tofu

Leave a Reply

