Potato-Spinach Bake

Just out of the oven!

Here’s entry #2 from the Fantastic Week of Spinach. This recipe was great because it allowed me to do a lot of things. It let me use some of the spinach we’d bought, it let me try out Giovanina’s suggestion of using sliced potato as a crust for something, and it let me cook with barley (which I haven’t done before). Some things I did differently in this recipe: used regular red peppers rather than roasted red peppers (mainly because the fresh ones were beautiful and on sale), had to add in the step of putting the potatoes in the oven by themselves for a bit. It isn’t listed as a step in the recipe, but the prologue of the recipe made it sound as if I should do it so I did. I’ve added it in for you guys below. I also sprinkled some paprika over the cheese before sliding it into the oven. I think it added a little bit of nice flavor. As for the spaghetti sauce, we used one made with sundried tomato and olives, which I thought complemented the flavors really well. Enjoy cooking this at home yourself!

Potato-Spinach Bake

1 large Russet baking potato, rinsed and unpeeled
Salt and ground black pepper to taste
1 cup uncooked quick-cooking barley
2 bunches spinach (about 20 oz.), trimmed and rinsed
2 1/2 cups shredded cheddar
2 large red peppers, cut into strips
paprika, to taste
1 cup spaghetti sauce for garnish

1.Preheat oven to 450F.
2. Spray 9-inch deep-dish pie plate with nonstick cooking spray.
3. Bring 2 cups water to a boil.
4. Slice potato into 1/4-inch-thick slices, and place around bottom of pie plate in single layer.
5. Spray potato slices lightly with nonstick cooking spray and put them in the oven for 10 minutes (or while you finish prepping the rest of the pieces of the recipe).
6. Meanwhile, cook barley according to package directions, drain and place in large mixing bowl.
7. Cut spinach widthwise into large pieces, and, using water clinging to leaves, steam spinach in covered pot until wilted, 2 to 3 minutes.
8. Remove from heat, drain and press out excess water.
9. Combine with barley in mixing bowl. Add 2 cups shredded cheese, and toss together.
5. Take potatoes out of the oven and place pepper strips on potato slices.
6. Mound barley mixture on top of pepper strips, sprinkle top with remaining 1/2 cup cheese and a bit of paprika.
7. Bake 7 to 10 minutes more, or until cheese bubbles and browns.

Ready to eat!

2 thoughts on “Potato-Spinach Bake

  1. I am SO making this today! I love love barley, and any excuse to make it is good for me, especially involving spinach and cheese! And I have to add mushrooms. But damn, this looks good.

  2. Pingback: Barley, Kale and Kidney Bean Stew « A Poet in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

