Aloo Palak

I have never felt qualified to cook Indian food. It has always seemed like something that required me to be so much better at cooking. But I really really love Indian food and as a poor pitiful grad student I don’t always have the money to go out to eat all the time (I may someday write a proposal that English grad students should also be allowed a stipend for food, coffee and beer but that’s in the future). Anyway, during the Great Week of Spinach when our house was full of that fabulous green stuff, I found this recipe on the Vegetarian Times website here. I’ve made it twice since then. It’s SO delicious. This is definitely not authentic Indian food, but I feel like it’s a step in the right direction. Maybe once I get used to using all these spices I won’t be afraid to try it myself.

Anyway, some things you should consider for this recipe. There is no onion in here, but the second time I made it I used a small white onion and it was really nice. I’d add that to this recipe if you make it. I also tried this once with fresh spinach, but I just arranged the leaves nicely in the dish and baked it….that was a mistake. If you want to use fresh spinach that’s fine, but you should steam it first so that it’s easier to mix and has a little bit of watery-ness to it. That makes it cook better in this casserole-y situation. This was such a good super-easy dinner, particularly when paired with some nice white rice. I will mostly definitely make this again.

Aloo Palak (Spinach & Potatoes)

2 10-oz. pkgs. frozen spinach, thawed and drained, liquid reserved
2 medium potatoes, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
2 Tbs. garlic powder
2 Tbs. curry powder
1 tsp. ground cumin
1 tsp. salt
3/4 cup light coconut milk

1. Preheat oven to 425°F.
2. Stir together spinach, 3/4 cup spinach liquid, potatoes, garlic powder, curry powder, cumin, and salt in 9-inch square baking dish.
3. Cover with foil, and bake 45 minutes.
4. Remove from oven. Stir in coconut milk, and transfer to serving bowl.

The simplest Indian meal in existence!

Leave a Reply

