Lemon-Lime Basil Potatoes

It’s getting towards the end of the year. 2011 is a little over a month away. My goal in creating this blog was to try new recipes. To learn to cook with things that I have never tried before. To do this I wanted to try at least 52 new recipes this year (equaling at least one a week). Have I met that goal? Maybe. I’m not sure. I’ll have to do a count. My stats on here say that I have over 52 entries, but I also posted many entries that had to do with cooking or food but were not necessarily new recipes. It’s crunch time, folks. Of course, I can always go crazy in December since I won’t have any work (vacation!) that I have to do and cook a TON. But I’m kind of hoping that maybe I will meet my goal without doing that. We’ll see.

Today I decided to experiment with stuff I had around the house. I bought a basil plant 3 weeks ago and harvested a bunch of fresh lovely large leaves from it this morning. They’re sitting on my bamboo placemat across the way looking at me saying “Use us Erin! Cook us! We taste delicious!” So I thought I’d try something with basil and potatoes. I am sure this isn’t a groundbreaking new recipe, but I thought I’d try it. I got the idea from a recipe on the Food Network website, but I decided to give it my own twist. So here is my idea…

Lemon-Lime Basil Potatoes

4 cups vegetable stock or water
4 potatoes, chopped into eatable chunks (I used russet, but I think red potatoes or those baby potatoes would be even better)
dash of salt
1 teaspoon black pepper
1 tablespoon lime juice
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1/4 cup fresh chopped basil leaves
1 tablespoon lemon juice (in addition to that above)

1. Bring the vegetable stock to a boil in a medium saucepan.
2. Add the potato chunks, salt, black pepper, lime juice and lemon juice.
3. Boil the potatoes till they’re tender.
4. Drain the liquid (you might possibly be able to save this to thicken soups, etc. though I haven’t tried yet).
5. Put the potatoes in a large bowl or serving dish.
6. Sprinkle with the remaining lemon juice.
7. Add the basil.
8. Toss the potatoes to cover. Add black pepper and salt if you feel so inclined. Definitely add some butter, because potatoes and butter are best friends.

It doesn't get much better than this.

Leave a Reply

