Spinach Bisque

One of my favorite soups & an excellent use of spinach!

Once upon a time, a mom once cut a recipe for spinach bisque out of a magazine. She really wanted to try it. However she never got around to it. Instead, one day in high school (I think it was high school) her daughter came home with the ambition of cooking something for the family for dinner. This did not often happen as the daughter was not yet into cooking as much as she is now, but the night before she had been rummaging around in the basket where her mother kept various clippings. She was cleaning it out as a favor to her mother, because sometimes mom shoved things like reciepts and coupons in there and then they expired. The daughter found this recipe and thought it sounded delicious. And so she alerted her mother that she planned to make this for dinner and that a trip to the store would need to be made. The daughter made a list for the mother, the necessary items were procured and the spinach bisque was prepared. ‘Twas a huge success and now the daughter has her own cooking blog and makes this so often that she a) no longer needs a recipe (as such there might be some discrepancies in this, please be aware) b) felt that she needs to post it on her blog for the good of all soup and spinach lovers.

Does anyone know WHAT a bisque IS? I didn’t. And I realized that I didn’t as I was writing the paragraph above. So I decided to research it. A visit to wikipedia (don’t hate me, this isn’t academic research) says that bisque is usually used to describe a cream soup made somehow with crustaceans. Usually the crustaceans are cooked twice. Supposedly this term originated in France. Evidently now people use it for all kinds of cream soups. Wikipedia suggests that this a strategy to make the soups sound more sophisticated. Interesting. Now I know. And now YOU’RE gonna know what I use to make spinach bisque. Enjoy!

In an effort to make this easier for you guys to make, I’m including a link to the “Taste of Home” website’s version of Spinach Bisque. That way you don’t have to rely on me measuring things. I actually believe that the recipe mom and I used originally came from “Taste of Home” so I feel like this is the best way to send you. Find the recipe Here.

Spinach Bisque

Chopped onion
Butter
Flour
Salt
Black pepper
Ground nutmeg (sometimes I use this & sometimes I don’t)
Milk
Water
Cheese (Cheddar is best, if you ask me)
FRESH spinach

1. Saute onion in butter until tender.
2. Stir in the flour, salt and nutmeg until blended.
3. Gradually whisk in milk, water, salt and black pepper. Bring to a boil.
4. Cook and stir for 2 minutes or until thickened.
5. Reduce heat to medium; add the cheese and stir until melted.
6. Stir in the spinach till it is cooked nicely into the soup.

One thought on “Spinach Bisque

Leave a Reply

