Chinese Shrimp Congee

Chinese Shrimp Congee

Of course I would get sick on the day my final paper is due. Typical. So there I was, sitting around, typing away and sniffling and being all around pathetic as hell when I decided I’d had enough of it all and I needed a nice warm, salty, soupy something to put in my stomach to make me feel less like death. But what did I have to make a soup with? Not much, really. I didn’t want to spend a lot of time on anything because I needed to write my paper. I also didn’t want a cream soup because I was worried the milk would make me even grosser than I already felt. So I reached for my Chinese cookbook and found a recipe for congee, which is one of my favorite breakfast foods in China. I decided to follow the basic recipe but alter it a bit so that I could make my favorite kind of congee…the kind with shrimp. I know, I know, but I do occasionally eat seafood because it makes Jake really happy, so I actually did have some shrimp in the freezer. Anyway, you can find the recipe I used below. For the un-altered version you’re just going to have to go to the Cookbooks page up on top and click on the link to buy the book. Be warned though…this was not a cheap cookbook. It is out of print so I paid about $25 for it. But to me it was worth it because it has been tested and approved by former Americans who taught English in China and has been found to be the most accurate Chinese cookbook (so far).

Chinese Shrimp Congee

1 generous cup short-grain rice
3 1/4 quarts water
shrimp (lots or a little, as many as you feel you want in the congee)
2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon white pepper
6 scallions, finely sliced

1. Wash the rice and place in a large pot with the water.
2. Cover, and cook for about 2 hours, stirring regularly.
3. Add the salt and pepper and shrimp.
4. Stir well, then return to a boil for a couple more minutes.
5. To serve, spoon into bowls. Top with the scallions. (You can also add things like fresh ginger, soy sauce, or fried bread…the kind you find in Chinese markets…to top it. This is my favorite way to eat it.)

3 thoughts on “Chinese Shrimp Congee

Leave a Reply

