Vegan “Chicken” Noodle Soup

Vegan "Chicken" Noodle Soup

I’m SICK! BLEH! And so OBVIOUSLY I need chicken noodle soup to make me feel good and keep my throat happy. Once again, I was stuck indoors with a limited amount of ingredients. But luckily I live very close to New Frontiers. So I bundled up and headed across that odd expanse of empty land bordering the store that always reminds me of T. S. Eliot’s “The Wasteland” as I’m walking across it. My mission: to find some of that elusive No-Chicken Chicken broth and egg noodles so I could make “chicken” noodle soup. Now, I’ve never actually tried this no-chicken chicken broth, but I heard tell of its wonders from one of my many cookbooks. After trying the recipe below I can say that it is okay, but certainly doesn’t taste like real chicken (I was holding out a small amount of hope for that, which was probably foolish, I know). I would like to make this again once when I wasn’t sick. I think maybe I couldn’t taste as well that day as normal because it didn’t really taste like much of anything. However, the next day when I heated up the leftovers (I was feeling slightly less like death that day) I thought it tasted a lot better. So my advice to you is to have some spices on hand if you find that it is not taste-y enough for you. I tried my best that day so here’s what I have to give you below.

Vegan “Chicken” Noodle Soup

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 small onion
2 cloves garlic
1 block firm tofu
basil (to taste)
dill (to taste)
black pepper (to taste)
salt (to taste)
no-chicken chicken broth
1 package egg noodles
nutmeg (to taste)

1. Add olive oil, onion and garlic to a small saucepan. Saute 2-5 minutes or till veggies are tender.
2. Add basil, dill, black pepper and salt. Saute 2 more minutes.
3. Add tofu. Saute 5-8 minutes.
4. Add no-chicken chicken broth to the pan.
5. When broth starts bubbling, add in noodles.
6. Cook soup 10 minutes more, or until noodles are tender.

Leave a Reply

