Cranberry Sauce

Strangely enough, I had never tried cranberry sauce till Jake and I went to a little dinner shindig at Brad’s house. It was pretty good. And not long after trying it, Safeway had a sale on cranberries. So I thought, why not make my own cranberry sauce? It’s worth a shot and it might be fun. So since I got sick the other day and have to stay indoors with tissues and cough syrup so I don’t infect anyone else, I decided to spend this evening cleaning and organizing my house from the craziness of the last week of classes and exams (I normally don’t do ANYTHING but study those last 2 weeks, and that includes the minimum amount of housework). I also figured it would be the perfect opportunity to try out a pretty simple cranberry sauce recipe I found online. I really wanted to try Chery’s recipe from the Bluffton Alum foodies website, but I sadly do not own a crockpot. So I had to find a stovetop non-crockpot version. A simple Google search usually offers some pretty decent selections. I usually browse through about 5 recipes to get a good idea of the things that are the same in most of them, and then narrow down to a good recipe from there. You can find the recipe for cranberry sauce here.

Cranberry Sauce

1 cup raw sugar
1 cup orange juice
4 cups (1 12-oz package) fresh cranberries
cinnamon
nutmeg
cloves

1. Wash and pick over cranberries.
2. In a saucepan bring to a boil orange juice and sugar, stirring to dissolve sugar.
3. Add cranberries, return to a boil.
4. Reduce heat, simmer for 10 minutes or until cranberries burst.
5. Now add all the cinnamon, nutmeg and clove.
6. Remove from heat.
7. Cool completely at room temperature and then chill in refrigerator. Cranberry sauce will thicken as it cools.

Cranberry sauce base makes 2 1/4 cups.

Cranberry Sauce

Leave a Reply

