Pumpkin, Vanilla & Wild Garlic Soup

A delicious soup for the afternoon

Found this recipe in the Irish Pub Cookbook. My first thought was: “No way this can actually be good.” So of course I had to try it. Invited my rad friend Michael over for lunch and coffee today so I had an excuse to make this. I did change a few things about this recipe. I used vegetable broth rather than the chicken broth the recipe called for since I’m a vegetarian. I also mashed the soup with a potato masher rather than put it in a blender, as I usually do. I also substituted vanilla extract for the actual vanilla beans the recipe called for which are obviously more expensive than I can afford right now. For the un-Erined version you’ll have to purchase the cookbook itself; there’s a link on the cookbooks page if you’re interested in doing that.

Pumpkin, Vanilla, and Wild Garlic Soup

2 teaspoons of vanilla extract
6 tablespoons unsalted Kerrygold Irish butter
1 clove garlic, minced
2 onions, chopped
2 lbs. pumpkin, peeled, seeded and chopped into 1 inch pieces
2 cups vegetable broth (it was originally chicken broth but I vegetarianized the recipe)
2 cups half-and-half
sea salt and black pepper to taste

1. In a large saucepan over medium heat, melt the butter.
2. Add the garlic and onions and cook 3-5 minutes or till soft but not browned.
3. Add the pumpkin, vegetable stock and 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract.
4. Cook, covered, 20-25 minutes or till the pumpkin is tender.
5. Remove from the heat and let cool for 10 minutes.
6. Use a potato masher to mash the chunkiness of the soup to a smoother consistency.
7. Whisk in the half-and-half and season with salt and pepper.
8. Stir in the last teaspoon of vanilla extract and simmer till heated through.
12. To serve, ladle soup into bowls and eat. You could also swirl a tablespoon of crème fraîche into each one.

Leave a Reply

