Brussels Sprouts Gratin

Brussels sprouts are super good for you!

I love this semi-new vegetarian cookbook that I own. I first came across it when I was in college and home for the summer and contemplating turning vegetarian for the first time. It didn’t happen at that time, but this cookbook sparked my interest. It’s called “The Complete Encyclopedia of Vegetables & Vegetarian Cooking” and besides being a cookbook, has a vegetable encyclopedia in the front with just about everything you’d ever want to know about the veggies you’d be using in a vegetarian diet. Every veggie that I’d ever seen in an American grocery store was represented and some that I hadn’t seen. I recommend this book to anyone who is thinking about becoming a vegetarian or anyone who wants to get to know their veggies really REALLY well. Although titled as a vegetarian cookbook, many recipes also have “suggestions” for recipe changes that include meat if you feel so inclined. So meat eaters are not left out of this cookbook, which I like. I’ve already made a few recipes from this and posted them. I cannot remember if there is a link to buy this on my cookbook page or not, so I guess after posting this I’ll go and doublecheck.

Brussels Sprouts Gratin

1 tablespoon butter
2/3 cup heavy cream
2/3 cup milk
2 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese
salt & black pepper
1 1/2 brussels sprouts, thinly sliced
1 garlic clove, finely chopped

1. Preheat the oven to 300 F.
2. Butter a shallow ovenproof dish.
3. Blend together the cream, milk, cheese and seasoning.
4. Place a layer of brussels sprouts in the bottom of the dish. Sprinkle with a layer of garlic and then pour over a little more than a quarter of the cream mixture.
5. Continue this in layers, ending with the remaining cream mixture.
6. Cover loosely with waxed paper and bake for 1 to 1 1/2 hours. Halfway through cooking remove the paper and press the sprouts under the liquid in the dish. Return to the oven to brown.

Leave a Reply

