Spaghetti Squash with sauce

Spaghetti Squash!

Oh my gosh…Michael Bacon came over to my house for lunch last week. I made potato soup and I made this spaghetti squash because I’ve always wanted to try spaghetti squash and I just haven’t gotten around to it till this past week. A special thanks to the Baconator for being such a good sport and hanging out that afternoon helping me cook and talking about stuff and trying a new food with me. You’re okay, Bacon. Anyway, the spaghetti squash was pretty easy to make. After Miss Karen Bontrager posted about making it I felt a renewed sense of squashy adventure and felt some surprise that it was so simple to cook. I just basically baked it and slapped some sauce on it. I didn’t try anything too fancy this first time around. It tasted just as good as everyone has said. So similar to a crunchy spaghetti that I was rather shocked (much to Michael Bacon’s amusement). So without further ado (or further insulting Michael Bacon, even though it’s fun) the “recipe” is below:

Spaghetti Squash with Sauce

1-2 spaghetti squash
olive oil
1 jar of spaghetti sauce (or homemade spaghetti sauce)

1. Preheat the oven to 375 F.
2. Cut the spaghetti squash in half long-ways.
3. Take out the seeds and pulp in the middle.
4. Using a brush, spoon or finger, coat the exposed flesh in olive oil and place flesh side down on a baking sheet.
5. Bake the spaghetti squash in the oven till you can pierce the tough outer rind with a fork.
6. Remove the spaghetti squash from the oven and let it cool for 5 minutes.
7. Using a fork, remove the flesh from the shell. It’ll rip out pretty easily and look just like spaghetti.
8. Cover with sauce and whatever toppings just like a normal spaghetti.

One thought on “Spaghetti Squash with sauce

  1. I’m always amused when Erin is shocked. Noticeably strong emotions are weird. So is spaghetti squash, but pleasantly so. Good stuff.

Leave a Reply

