Erin’s Saturday Night Southwest Seafood Soup

A new Erin recipe!

Jake is writing a HUGE paper this weekend and I hadn’t checked my cupboard till it was time to make dinner. Lo and behold the problematic lack of fresh veggies! However we did have frozen shrimp and crappy crappy frozen salmon fillets (which I was going to use to learn to cook salmon since I would’ve felt like the devil screwing up REAL, NICE salmon). So I thought: “Okay, shrimp soup with whatever I can find.” I used this recipe from allrecipes.com as a guide but switched things up. My goal was a Southwestern seafood soup incorporating multiple tastes and a little bit of the hot spicy flavor of southwest food. What you have below is the recipe I ended up making.

A few things to note: I used a can of diced tomatoes and also diced jalapenos (which I buy in a jar already diced so that I don’t have the problematic business of accidentally squirting myself in the eye and going blind or something…berate me if you want, I don’t often cook with jalapeno peppers yet). A good substitute for this might be the cans of diced tomatoes with green chiles. I had a can of this but didn’t want to use it because I was afraid it might be too hot. So I added the jalapenos in myself. As usual, if you happen to be able to get all these ingredients FRESH, then it’s probably better for you to do so. A note about cutting up the salmon: if you use frozen salmon fillets, let them thaw partially and THEN cut them. I found that it was really easy to slice through the salmon when they were still slightly frozen. Also, I added in about 2 tablespoons of flax seeds. I put this in the recipe below as an optional ingredient because it’s not needed. I add flax seeds to a lot of my recipes because they’re so healthy for you.

Erin’s Saturday Night Southwest Seafood Soup

2 quarts vegetable broth
1 1/2 tablespoons dried, crushed rosemary
5 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 teaspoon dill
1/2 teaspoon cumin
2 tablespoons flax seeds (optional)
3-4 tablespoons oyster sauce (to taste)
1/2 (6 ounce) can tomato paste
1 stick butter
2 potatoes, chopped into soup-sized pieces
1 onion, chopped
1 can diced tomatoes
3 teaspoons diced jalapenos
1 can whole kernel corn
1 cup white wine
1 cup white rice
1 pound frozen shrimp, with tails, thawed
2 frozen salmon fillets, thawed and cut into soup-sized chunks

1. Pour broth into a large pot, and mix in rosemary, garlic, dill, cumin, flax seeds (if using), oyster sauce, tomato paste, diced tomatoes, jalapenos, onion, potatoes and butter.
2. Bring to a boil, reduce heat to low, and simmer till potatoes are tender, stirring occasionally.
3. Add in rice. Bring to a boil and simmer 15 minutes, stirring occasionally to avoid sticking.
4. Stir corn and wine into the soup, and continue to simmer and occasionally stir 10 minutes.
5. Stir in shrimp and salmon fillets. Continue cooking 3-15 minutes, or until shrimp are opaque.

Leave a Reply

