Banana-Applesauce Chai Nut Bread

Apple butter was a good addition to this. Thanks to my Dad for teaching me that!

Bought bananas at the store last week with the intention of letting them get really ripe and using them to make banana nut bread. Wanted to shake things up a bit and try something different with the bread. Used this recipe from the Food Network website as a guide and added in some applesauce and chai to try something different. The idea of adding apple butter when I was eating it comes from my childhood and my Dad always eating it on stuff. I remember the first time I tried it I was pretty disappointed. I think I expected it to be like apple candy or something. Now I always keep some in my fridge for whatever–toast, pancakes, waffles, french toast, breads. I recommend trying the bread with some or maybe even heating it up (if you’re eating it a day later and it’s already cold) and adding a little bit (not TOO MUCH) of butter.

Banana-Applesauce Chai Nut Bread

2 1/2 cups flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
2 eggs
5 tablespoons butter
1/4 cup half-and-half
1 teaspoon lemon juice
3 large bananas
1 cup applesauce
1/2 cup liquid chai mix
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup walnut halves
(optional add: dried cherries)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease and flour a 9 1/2 by 5 1/2-inch loaf pan.
2. In a large mixing bowl, sift flour, baking powder, and baking soda. Reserve.
3. In the bowl of an electric mixer, add eggs, butter, half-and-half, lemon juice, bananas, applesauce, chai, sugar, and salt.
4. Mix or blend until smooth. Slowly add dry ingredients. Fold in nuts (and cherries, if using).
5. Pour batter into pan and bake 1 hour and 25 minutes or until toothpick inserted comes out clean.

One thought on “Banana-Applesauce Chai Nut Bread

Leave a Reply

