Cauliflower & Egg with Cheese

Even though I burned the croutons a bit it didn't even matter because it was so so tasty!

I needed a fairly fast and simple recipe to make for dinner last night between our trip to the grocery store (can you believe we had nothing to eat but cans of beans and plain spaghetti?!) and Jake’s study group. This recipe looked pretty quick and easy so I thought I’d give it a try. Besides that, I’d never heard of hard boiling eggs before adding them to a casserole type of dish, so I had to give that a try. Well, I didn’t quite get it done before Jake had to go to his study group, but it was ready when he came back. It’s pretty delicious, particularly if you’re a fan of cauliflower. I even ate some of the leftovers for my breakfast this morning on a piece of wheat toast. The one warning I can give you is to make sure that you watch this really really carefully when you put it in the oven to broil. I know broiling cooks things at a high heat pretty quickly, but even I didn’t expect the croutons to scorch as quickly as they did. Now, a little crouton-scorching didn’t hurt this at all, but you still wanna watch out for it. Actually, the next time I make this I’m planning on soaking the croutons in a little milk before adding them to the top so that way the cheese mixture has time to brown and catch-up a bit before the croutons start to brown.

Cauliflower & Egg with Cheese

1 medium-size cauliflower, in florets
1 medium onion, sliced
2 eggs, hardboiled, peeled and chopped
3 tablespoons flour
1 teaspoon curry powder
2 tablespoons butter
2 cups milk
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
salt and black pepper
4 ounces cheddar cheese, grated
small package of soup croutons

1. Boil the cauliflower and onion in enough salted water to cover until they are just tender. DO NOT OVERCOOK. Drain well.
2. Arrange the cauliflower and onion in a shallow ovenproof dish and top with the chopped egg.
3. Put the flour, curry powder, butter and milk in a saucepan. Bring slowly to a boil, stirring well, till thickened and smooth.
4. Stir in the thyme and seasoning and simmer for a few minutes.
5. Remove the pan from the heat and stir in three-quarters of the cheese.
6. Pour the sauce over the cauliflower and sprinkle with croutons and the remaining cheese.
7. Brown under a hot broiler till golden and serve.

Leave a Reply

