Café Brûlot

Waiting to be set on fire.

Who doesn’t like to set things on fire? I know I do, particularly when it’s something food-related that will look super impressive to my friends. This is definitely one of those kinds of recipes. I snagged this off of the Vegetarian Times website to make this weekend as I was trying to get a finished draft of my thesis completed. I had to send my boyfriend to the store for brandy, but obviously he wasn’t too upset about this. He knows it’ll go into all sorts of other things later. It was the perfect way to start off our Saturday morning…fire, brandy and coffee. Now I sadly could not manage to get a good picture of the saucepan with this stuff in it set on fire. That’s okay though, as I’ve got before and after shots for everyone to enjoy. The one thing I changed in this recipe is that I used a saucepan on the stove to heat the liquid because I did not have the chafing dish the recipe wants me to use. Oh well, these things happen.

Café Brûlot

8 sugar cubes
Zest of 1 orange
Zest of 1/2 lemon
1 small stick cinnamon
1/2 tsp. whole cloves
1/2 cup brandy or bourbon
3 cups hot, freshly brewed dark roast coffee, preferably with chicory

1. Rub sugar cubes with orange and lemon zest.
2. Place sugar cube in each of 8 demitasse cups or small mugs.
3. Heat cinnamon stick, orange and lemon zests, cloves and brandy together in chafing dish.
4. Flame mixture by igniting with a long match, and carefully add hot coffee.
5. Stir, and ladle mixture into prepared cups.

After the flames, with coffee.

Leave a Reply

