Home-style Green Pea Soup

Home-style Green Pea Soup

Spiritual Beings bless you, Sarah Kramer and Tanya Barnard! You have created some of my favorite cookbooks, putting a modern twist on vegan food (it’s not boring anymore y’all)! This recipe comes from “The Garden of Vegan” cookbook, co-authored by these two lovely ladies. Please see the links to buy this cookbook. Go and purchase everything with their names on it because it’s guaranteed to be cookbook gold. Anyway, I’ve never made anything with split peas. It’s probably because I am not a huge pea fan. Really, the only way I enjoy the pea is when it is in a nice salty split pea soup…with ham. Obviously it’s been a while since I’ve had this since I do not often come across split pea soup WITHOUT ham, so I had to try this recipe. If I did this again I’d splurge for some red potatoes instead of the Russet potatoes I used. Red potatoes seem like they go so well with split pea soup. Also, when I do this again I’ll start out by soaking the dried peas in a bowl with boiling hot water so that they cook more quickly when it’s time to add them into the soup.

Home-style Green Pea Soup

1 medium onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 medium potatoes, chopped
1 medium carrot, chopped
4 cups vegetable stock
1 cup dried green split peas
1 tablespoon soy sauce
3 bay leaves
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1/8 teaspoon black pepper
1/8 teaspoon salt

1. In a large soup pot on medium heat, saute onions and garlic in the olive oil till translucent.
2. Add the potatoes, carrots, veggie stock, peas, soy sauce, bay leaves, oregano, cumin, pepper and salt.
3. Bring to a boil then reduce heat to medium-low.
4. Simmer for 25-30 minutes or till peas are cooked.

Leave a Reply

