Sleepy Sunday Morning Scramble

Sleepy Sunday Morning Scramble

Got this recipe from Sarah Kramer’s “La Dolce Vegan” cookbook. Was running late to my Friday class (after making a delicious batch of lemon-lavender cookies for my classmates) and decided to make a quick tofu scramble to take with me to class. If I don’t eat breakfast or lunch or SOMETHING before my class begins at 1pm then I don’t get to eat ANYTHING till it ends at 3:30pm, after which point I’m so hungry that I have the tendency to eat junk. This was a pretty decent recipe. Although I have had really delicious tofu scramble, I have never made one MYSELF that I would consider to be something so great that I needed to eat it on a regular basis. Granted, I’ve only made a tofu scramble ONCE before this and never attempted it afterwards because I did such a shoddy job with the first one. However having no time to eat makes a gal desperate so I decided to try again. I’d add a bit more salt to this if I made it again and maybe some spices, though I’m not sure which ones offhand. This was a pretty successful recipe in that I didn’t hate it. I do think it could be better, but I will probably make five or six more tofu scramble recipes before attempting to alter any of them, just because I have not had much luck with this in the past. Anyway, add a little more salt for sure. I bet this would taste great with some green bell peppers too. Yum yum.

Sleepy Sunday Morning Scramble
1 small onion, chopped
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 pound firm tofu, crumbled
2 garlic cloves, minced
2 tablespoons nutritional yeast
1 tablespoon tamari
2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
1/2 teaspoon turmeric
1 teaspoon sage
1/4 teaspoon basil
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1 medium tomato, chopped

1. Saute the onion in olive oil till tender.
2. Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, combine the tofu, garlic, nutitional yeast, tamari, Dijon mustard, turmeric, sage, basil, salt and black pepper. Mix well.
3. Add the tofu mixture to the skillet with the onions. Cook 5-7 minutes, or till the tofu starts to brown in the pan.
4. Turn off the heat and add the tomato to the skillet, mixing it in well. Let it sit a couple of minutes so the remaining heat lets the tomato release some of its juices but still keeps the tomato fresh.
5. Serve alongside some nice fresh toast.

Leave a Reply

