Turnip and Chickpea Cobbler

Turnip and Chickpea Cobbler

I decided a few weeks ago that I do not know enough about cooking with turnips. I know that they are lovely things to add to nice hearty stews, but other than that and memories of Grandpa Wahl winning county fair ribbons for the largest turnip, I don’t really know much else. I turned to one of my trusty cookbooks for more info. My “Complete Encycolpedia of Vegetables and Vegetarian Cooking” cookbook is so useful because I can look up veggies and it gives info for choosing, storing and basics of cooking each one. All this veggie info appears at the front of the book and what you get after that is a vegetarian (NOT Vegan, fyi) cookbook. I really like this book because of the veggie encyclopedia in front and because even though the recipes are vegetarian they will sometimes give substitution suggestions for meat-eaters. There’s no substitutions for vegans, but if you’re vegan you probably know what to use anyway. Vegans have to be very crafty with their food, which is why I’m not yet ready to become one (well that and the fact that cheese is my kryptonite). Oddly enough there was only one recipe in this particular book that featured turnips as the main veggie. Luckily we just went to the store Sunday morning and have a fridge full of fresh veggies to work with so we had all the things I needed. You might notice (if you own the book) that the original recipe has you making a dough topping from scratch and cutting it into little star shapes to sprinkle on top. Well I’m a busy girl and though the picture looks cool I didn’t feel like taking all the time to do that (besides I’d have to buy a star-shaped cookie cutter that I’d never use again). So instead of doing all that work I used a trick my clever mother taught me. I bought a can of Pillsbury crescent rolls (the nice sinful buttery ones) at the store, flattened them out and used them to cover the cobbler. Tasty tasty. If you don’t believe me then you should try it the next time you need a savory crust for something. My mother is a freakin’ Midwestern kitchen genius sometimes. Thanks mom!

Turnip and Chickpea Cobbler

1 onion, sliced
2 carrots, chopped
3 medium sized turnips, chopped
1 small sweet potato, chopped
2 celery stalks, sliced thinly
3 tablespoons vegetable oil
1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
1/2 teaspoon Italian seasoning
1 14oz. can diced tomatoes
1 14oz. can chickpeas
1 vegetable bouillon cube
salt and black pepper
1 can Pillsbury crescent rolls

1. Preheat oven to 375 F.
2. Fry all the veggies in oil for 10 minutes or till soft.
3. Add the coriander, Italian seasonings, tomatoes, chickpeas with their liquid, and bouillon cube. Season well with salt and pepper. Simmer for 20 minutes.
4. Pour the veggies into a casserole dish.
5. Unroll the crescent roll dough and spread it over top of the veggies in the casserole dish.
6. Bake for 12-15 minutes, or till the dough has risen and is golden brown.

Leave a Reply

