Mulligatawny Soup

Mulligatawny Soup

Found this lovely recipe in Sarah Kramer and Tanya Barnard’s “How it All Vegan” cookbook. Just a reminder to everyone that there are links on the cookbook page that direct you right to the book’s Amazon.com page to buy it. All of the cookbooks I own were bought after an intense amount of scrutiny on my part and I recommend owning all of them if you’re looking for a good cookbook. So I took off on my little green bike after teaching a shorter class today and headed to Safeway to purchase bell peppers and tomatoes for the following recipe. The main reason we chose this recipe is because we have a big ol’ head of cauliflower sitting in the fridge that it just BEGGING to be used. Every time I open the door it looks at me and says: “Come on, Erin. I’m so bored in here. I’d rather be in your tummy.” Well cauliflower, I aim to please. This soup is delicious AND a really lovely, colorful recipe to set on a table in front of guests. I definitely recommend it. Next time I make this I will change 3 things: 1) I will add a tiny bit of salt to the soup, 2) I will use diced canned tomatoes to give the soup a bit more juice, 3) I will use coconut milk rather than shredded coconut because it will give a little more juice to the soup, which is really heavy on pieces of food and not as much on juices.

Mulligatawny Soup
1 large onion, chopped
3 stalks celery, chopped
3 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 teaspoon turmeric
1 teaspoon coriander
1 teaspoon curry powder
2 tablespoons soy sauce
6 cups vegetable stock
2 medium carrots, sliced
2 large potatoes, cut into cubes
1/2 cup rice
1 small red pepper, diced
1 small green pepper, diced
1 small tomato, diced
1 cup cauliflower, sliced
3/4 cup grated coconut
3 teaspoons lemon juice
3 teaspoons cilantro

1. In a large soup pot, saute the onions and celery in oil on medium heat till onions are translucent.
2. Add the cayenne, turmeric, coriander, curry, soy sauce, veggie stock, carrots, potatoes, and rice.
3. Bring to a boil and reduce heat. Simmer for 15-20 minutes.
4. Add the peppers, tomato, cauliflower, coconut, lemon juice, and cilantro.
5. Stir together and simmer 5-10 minutes until vegetables are tender.
6. You can either blend all or half of the soup in a food processor or mash it up a bit with a potato masher (as I do) before returning to the heat for 3 minutes and then serving.

2 thoughts on “Mulligatawny Soup

    • Jessica…SO funny! This recipe has been up for forever and I guess you’re the first person to notice that I missed typing in one of the most important pieces of this! I’ve added it above (3/4 cup grated coconut). Thanks for noticing the missing piece!

Leave a Reply

