Bread and Butter Savory

Bread and Butter Savory...just out of the oven!

I originally decided to try this recipe from the “1000 Vegetarian Recipes” cookbook, simply because of how easy it looked to make. Figured I’d whip it up one of these nights that I had a ton of work to do and not enough time to do it in. It ended up tasting pretty swell. The recipe in the book only called for the addition of sauteed scallions as far as veggies go, however it also said that you could add whatever veggies you wanted to the recipe and it would be great. I added in a layer of spinach, which I wilted and pressed some water from. I also added in two small tomatoes, all chopped up. This is where I ran into a problem. I didn’t think about all the extra moisture this casserole would get from the tomatoes. I should have reduced the amount of milk I used to make up for it or let some of the juices bleed out of the tomatoes. Maybe using sundried tomatoes would have been a better idea than fresh as well. Anyway, I didn’t do that so Jake complained that the casserole tasted a bit too much like soggy bread. Now, I thought it was wonderful and tasted great, but next time I’ll definitely watch the amount of moisture I put into it and remeasure my liquid ingredients accordingly. I also added a quick dash of basil over the top of the casserole, which was a good move. We had this for dinner, but it would taste better, in my opinion, as a brunch or lunch. I even ate the leftovers for breakfast this morning!

Bread and Butter Savory
1/4 cup butter
1 bunch scallions, sliced
6 slices whole wheat bread, crusts removed
1 1/2 cups sharp Cheddar cheese, grated
2 eggs
scant 2 cups milk
salt and pepper, to taste

1. Preheat oven to 375 F. Lightly grease a 1.5 liter ovenproof dish with a little of the butter.
2. Melt the remaining butter in a small pan. Add the scallions and cook over medium heat, stirring occasionally, till soft and golden.
3. Cut the bread into triangles.
4. Place half the bread triangles into the base of the dish.
5. Cover with the scallions and top with half the grated cheese. If you are using any other veggies or meat, add that to the dish.
6. Layer the remaining triangles of bread in the dish.
7. Beat together the eggs and milk. Season with salt and pepper.
8. Carefully pour the mixture over the bread in the dish. Let it soak for 15-20 minutes.
9. Sprinkle the remaining cheese over the soaked bread.
10. Bake for 35-40 minutes until puffed up and golden brown.
11. Serve immediately.

Dished up so you can see the pretty layers.

2 thoughts on “Bread and Butter Savory

  1. Pingback: Spinach Bread and Butter Casserole | A Poet in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

