Faux Feta

A spoonful of faux feta makes everything better!

Feta cheese is so expensive for a gal on a TA’s salary. Not to mention it is cheese so it has a high fat content. So when I bought Sarah Kramer and Tanya Barnard’s “How it all Vegan” cookbook, I was really excited to see a recipe for fake feta using tofu, which is considerably less expensive. If you really want to make your dollars count, I suggest keeping a sharp eye on the tofu section of your supermarket. My local Safeway often puts tofu on sale for what ends up being $1 a package. I often wait till one of these sales come around and then purchase 4-5 packages of the tofu. If you live in Flagstaff you can also buy your tofu at New Frontiers…they have packages there that are $1.50; considerably less than the two dollars and something cents that it normally is at Safeway without a sale on. Anyway when it goes on sale I buy a ton of tofu. Some of it I eat in various dishes, some of it I squeeze and freeze to make it last longer and give it a tougher consistency that is more meat-like, and some I use for things like this faux feta recipe. One of the best things my mom taught me when I was growing up was how to shop smart. Thanks Mom! As for the recipe below, next time I’ll add a bit less vinegar, but really it was an all around great recipe and tasted quite comparable to the real thing. Tomorrow I’ll be posting the recipe I actually made the faux feta for, so stay tuned!

Faux Feta
1/4 cup olive oil
1/4 cup water
1/2 cup red wine vinegar
2 teaspoons salt
1 tablespoon dried basil
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
1 package firm tofu, cubed or crumbled

1. In a large bowl, mix together the oil, water, vinegar, salt, basil, pepper and oregano.
2. Marinate the tofu in this mixture for at least an hour or more.

Makes 1 1/2 cups.

Leave a Reply

