Orzo Lentil Pilaf with Feta

Orzo Lentil Pilaf with Feta

This recipe from the Vegetarian Times website made me search out the recipe for faux feta cheese in one of my vegan cookbooks, which I posted yesterday. This particular recipe was pretty good, but a bit bland for my tastes. Next time I’ll spice it up with something. Maybe a garlic clove or some Italian seasoning. Also, next time I will make the pilaf mixture and add in the onions LAST. Maybe I did something wrong, I don’t know, but they lost all their gorgeous color by the time the dish was done. I’d rather have them in this as a crispy colorful finishing touch than lost in the mix of lentils and pasta. All in all, I think this was a swell basic dish. I can take this recipe and use it as a base for my own more flavorful version. Honestly, in this one, all the flavor seems to come from the feta it’s topped with. I’ll change that next time around.
We ended up eating the leftovers of this the next evening alongside the Chili Lime Fish Fry I first made a few months previously. A dash or two of citrus into the leftover pilaf worked wonders for this dish. I encourage you to try both the fish recipe and this pilaf recipe and see what you think!

Orzo Lentil Pilaf with Feta
1 Tbs. olive oil
1 medium red onion, finely chopped (1 1/2 cups)
1 1/2 cups cooked brown lentils, or 1 15-oz. can lentils, rinsed and drained
6 oz. dry orzo pasta (3/4 cup)
1/2 cup crumbled low-fat feta cheese

1. Heat oil in large skillet over medium heat.
2. Add onion, and sauté 5 minutes, or until softened.
3. Stir in lentils, orzo, and 1 1/2 cups water.
4. Season with salt and pepper, if desired.
5. Cover, and cook 10 to 12 minutes, or until orzo is tender, and all water is absorbed.
6. Divide among serving bowls, and sprinkle each serving with 2 Tbs. feta.

One thought on “Orzo Lentil Pilaf with Feta

  1. So totally didn’t realize that you left facebook until I went to message you for your address!
    sooo email me your address pretty please

    ps I miss you witty commments on FB>.

Leave a Reply

