Zucchini and Cheese on Toast

Zucchini and Cheese on Toast

This is the last week of classes at Northern Arizona University…whoooo hoooo! To celebrate, I decided to wake up this morning and make a fun new breakfast for Jake and I. I pulled out my rad “Easy Vegetarian” cookbook and found a fun recipe for a breakfast toast involving zucchini. This was a great recipe. As the title of the cookbook suggests this recipe was super easy. I threw it together in less than 10 minutes. I even altered the recipe a bit because the zucchini we had in our fridge were so huge that I only used one, not the 2 that the recipe called for. I’ve put my version below. I suggest using a toaster oven for this recipe rather than heating your big old regular oven. Uses less energy and makes the environment really happy.

Zucchini and Cheese on Toast
1 zucchini, grated
1 2/3 cups freshly grated mature Cheddar cheese
1 shallot, finely chopped
1 egg, lightly beaten
a dash of Worcestershire sauce
4 slices bread, toasted
salt and black pepper, to taste

1. Put the grated zucchini in a clean, dry dishtowel and twist tightly to squeeze out excess liquid.
2. Transfer zucchini to a mixing bowl and add cheese, shallot, egg, Worcestershire sauce, salt and pepper. Stir thoroughly.
3. Put the toasted bread on a baking tray. Pile the zucchini mixture on top.
4. Cook in a preheated broiler until golden brown.
5. Serve hot.

One thought on “Zucchini and Cheese on Toast

  1. That looks like an excellent breakfast – or lots of other food-eating labels. I’d even eat it before bed, just before the fast that would later be broken in the morning by breakfast.

Leave a Reply

