Cheese and Chive Biscuits

Jake's yummy salmon

About a week ago I purchased a big old frozen salmon fillet at Safeway (it was on sale…how could I resist?). We decided to make it for lunch today and pair it with a bunch of carrots and these biscuits from my “1000 Vegetarian Recipes” cookbook. These are really easy to make and a great excuse to get out your nice rolling pin. I used a bit less cayenne pepper (just shy of the 1/2 teaspoon in the recipe) because I wanted to make sure the biscuits weren’t too spicy. I also used many more chives than they required (I’d say I used about 1/4 a cup) because I really wanted the chive flavor to be the focus in the biscuits since it’s such a delicious flavor. These were super easy to mix up and I felt pretty good about sneaking a few bites of the dough because there was no raw egg in the mixture to make me nervous. One thing I will caution you on is to make sure you use the self-rising flour the recipe calls for. I do not think mine was actually self-rising (I had removed the flour from the sack and put it in my flour container, not thinking that I need to label it appropriately…mistake!). It isn’t going to hurt the taste if you do not use self-rising flour. However, the biscuits will look more like crackers than fluffy white biscuits. In fact, if you want a smaller, flatter biscuit then by all means use regular flour. Mine turned out thinner and they were just fine and kind of nice and crunchy like crackers. I cooked them in 2 batches and the second time they came out a little better because I made sure to cut them a bit thicker. I bring you 2 pictures for this blog entry. One of the delicious salmon and carrots that Jake made and the other of a plate full of biscuits.

Cheese and Chive Biscuits
generous 1 1/2 cups self-rising flour
1 teaspoon powdered mustard
1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper (less if you don’t want them as spicy)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup low-fat soft cheese with added herbs
2 tablespoons snipped fresh chives
scant 1/2 cup milk, plus 2 tablespoons for brushing
generous 1/2 cup grated Cheddar cheese
low-fat soft cheese or butter, to serve

1. Preheat oven to 400 F. Strain the flour, mustard, cayenne pepper, and salt into a mixing bowl.
2. Add the soft cheese to the mixture and mix until well incorporated.
3. Stir in the snipped chives.
4. Make a well in the center of the ingredients adn gradually pour in the 1/2 cup milk, stirring as you pour, until the mixture forms a soft dough.
5. Turn the dough onto a floured counter and knead lightly. Roll out until 3/4 inch thick.
6. Use a 2 inch circular cookie cutter (or a water glass) to stamp out as many circles as you can.
7. Transfer the circles to a cookie sheet.
8. Reknead the dough trimmings together and roll out again. Stamp out more circles–you should be able to make 10 biscuits in total.
9. Brush the biscuits with the remaining milk and sprinkle with the grated cheese.
10. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until risen and golden.
11. Transfer to a wire rack to cool. Serve warm with soft cheese or butter.

Cheese and Chive Biscuits

Leave a Reply

