Red Kidney Bean Stew

First recipe in the new kitchen: Red Kidney Bean Stew!

For those of you who don’t know, I graduated from NAU on May 14th and moved to Tucson Arizona on May 20th. I’m starting ANOTHER Masters degree here, this time in Library Science and Information Resources, specializing in Special Collections and Archives Management. I may also do a Museum Studies certificate, but I’m not sure yet. Anyway, packing and moving was terrible as it always is, but setting up the new house has been fun. We’re all moved into the new house and my kitchen looks FABULOUS thanks to my Jake and his amazing shelf-building skills. I wanted to make sure that Jake was here for the first new recipe in the new kitchen, so around lunchtime on Tuesday I whipped this up. This recipe is from my “Vegetarian Times cookbook” and it’s one I’ve been meaning to try for a while now as it sounded delicious on the page. This recipe didn’t disappoint. I added in salt and black pepper (which were not originally in the recipe) because that is how we do things at this house and I can see playing around with this recipe and making some pretty rad stuff depending on what veggies are around and what spices I pair with it. I also altered the recipe a bit because they wanted you to blend it and I don’t really like my soups pureed. At the most I will smash them a bit with a potato masher, but I usually try not to blend all my soups. This was a great one to keep chunky, as it fit the hearty nature of the soup itself. It was pretty fast and pretty filling so I recommend it if you’re super hungry and just don’t have as much time as you’d like to cook that day.

Red Kidney Bean Stew
2 16oz. cans red kidney beans
1 cup bean liquid reserved from cans
1 teaspoon vegetable oil, plus 1/4 cup water
2 small onions, chopped finely
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon curry powder
1 tomato, chopped
2 medium potatoes, cubed
2 carrots, cut into 1/2 inch cubes
1 tablespoon parsley (fresh or dried)
salt and pepper to taste

1. Heat the oil and water in a large saucepan.
2. Cook the onions and garlic, stirring, until the onions are translucent.
3. Add the curry powder, potatoes and carrots. Stir and cook for 5 minutes.
4. Add the tomato, reserved bean liquid, and beans.
5. Simmer, covered, till carrots and potatoes are almost tender.
6. Add in the parsley, salt and pepper. Stir.
7. Continue simmering until carrots and potatoes are tender.

2 thoughts on “Red Kidney Bean Stew

  1. Just had a thought that if you really want to make this recipe even more quickly you could add a can of diced tomatoes instead of the real-life tomato. Just a thought for those of you who have less time than you’d like.

  2. Added the canned tomatoes tonight. As well as 1/4 cup quinoa, 1 tablespoon oregano, 1 1/2 teaspoons dill, 1 teaspoon flax seeds (to make things more healthy), 3 tablespoons nutritional yeast, minus a can of kidney beans (mainly because I didn’t want to bother with going to the store) and adding 2 more potatoes.
    Life is good and the soup is still delicious. Good news everbody!

Leave a Reply

