Crazy Guac-odile Dip

A perfect summer afternoon snack!

So it’s HOT in Tucson and I don’t wanna do stuff. This doesn’t actually make a difference; I still have a ton of stuff that I NEED to do and am not allowed to put off. However, that doesn’t mean I’m happy about it. Safeway was having a sale on avocadoes so there are 4 of them sitting on my shelf winking their avocado winks at me. It was also 88 degrees INSIDE the house on Wednesday late afternoon (I’m trying to be a badass and not turn on the central a/c until I can’t bear it). This means guacamole for lunch on Thursday! Whooo hoo! Since I’m feeling lazy I looked to my copy of “PETA’s Vegan College Cookbook” for a shortcut kind of recipe. I do not often use this cookbook because I’m a real person now with more than a tiny fridge and a microwave to cook with, but it’s great for shortcuts and honestly absolutely fabulous for college kid vegans who don’t have a lot of resources or time but still want to eat healthy. I recommend it for both of those reasons and you can buy it via the link on my Cookbooks page. As you can see it definitely comes in handy for me in situations like this. I did change something about this recipe…I skipped the onion powder and put a real white onion in there. I have a ton of them around and so I didn’t think I had a good excuse for not using them. Plus they’re tasty. I also added 2 cloves of garlic to the recipe. Again, I had them around and they’re awesome and really healthy for you.

Crazy Guac-odile Dip
3 large avocados, peeled, pitted and mashed
1 14.5oz. can diced tomatoes, drained
2 tablespoons dried cilantro
1 tablespoon chopped jalapenos
1 teaspoon onion powder, or 1 small onion, chopped
2 tablespoons lime juice
salt, to taste

1. Mix everything together and serve. Tastes better when it’s been chilled for 40 minutes to an hour.

Doesn’t get much easier than that eh?

3 thoughts on “Crazy Guac-odile Dip

  1. Ohman, I haven’t even made this yet and I can already tell I’d eat nearly all of it in one sitting. Bet it would clear sinuses in the event of allergies or a cold though. I wanna make it right now, but I am missing several ingredients, including avocados.

  2. Next time, use shallots instead of onions. It will change your life. I promise.

    And what’s the shortcut with this? Dried cilantro as opposed to fresh? I’m confused.

  3. Rach, I think the shortcut was using onion powder instead of fresh onions…which I felt kind of evil doing so I skipped. So I guess MY version of this recipe is not really a shortcut. Hahahaha!
    Shallots would be DELICIOUS! I can’t believe I didn’t think of that. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

