Brandy Preserving Sauce

Brandy Preserving Sauce

Found this recipe in a cooking magazine while I was visiting Karen in Alaska this summer. Sadly I cannot remember which magazine I got it from. Later in the fall when berries started to go on sale I bought a ton and put away two jars of brandied berries waiting for the right time. This morning around 10:30am I decided that it wasn’t too early to get out the vanilla ice cream so I decided to make some of this sauce up to pour over top. I also had some little dessert kind of sponge cakes that I cheated by buying at the local grocery store. You can see that this particular mix included both red raspberries and black raspberries. I have another jar with red raspberries and blueberries. I will let that last jar wait till I have a special something to celebrate. It certainly is a fiesty little sauce and easy to make if you can stand the wait.

Brandy Preserving Sauce
2 cups fresh berries
1 cup brandy
1 1/2 cups sugar
1/2 cup water

1. Place berries into a 24 oz. jar. Add brandy until fruit is covered. Seal jar. Hold at room temperature for up to 3 months.
2. Drain berries into a sieve into a bowl, reserving brandy and fruit.
3. Boil brandy, sugar and water in a saucepan. Off heat, stir in berries.
4. Serve sauce with cheesecake or ice cream, etc.

One thought on “Brandy Preserving Sauce

Leave a Reply

