Coffee Granita

Coffee Granita

Hmmm…have I mentioned that it’s hot here? I think I may spend a fortune on Otter pops and ice cream and iced coffee before I leave Tucson. Luckily as I was flipping through the “1000 Vegetarian Recipes from around the World” cookbook this afternoon I came across this really easy recipe for coffee granita. It was only 3:30pm and I figured that by 9:30pm (after the 6 hour freeze and stir period) I’d be just about ready for bed but so hot that I don’t have quite the energy to get there yet. This would be ready at my deepest hour of need. Plus it’s made with coffee. How could I resist? I made the recipe exactly as it was in the book, though I can imagine that subbing in actual brewed coffee wouldn’t be too difficult. In fact, a few pages before this recipe there is a recipe for espresso granita that uses actual strong-brewed espresso rather than instant stuff. Perhaps I’ll try that next. I looked at it for a bit and then decided on this recipe because I didn’t have any actual espresso beans in the house. Anyway, this Coffee Granita recipe struck me as a really great recipe to remember if I ever go back and live in China where instant coffee is the more common thing. It’s important to collect these useful recipes whenever you can. Anyway, after careful scrutiny of the coffee mixture in my freezer over 6 hours it was finally ready. The recipe suggests serving this with cream. I don’t have any cream in the house so I tried some on its own and then with a bite of vanilla ice cream. Either way works very well if you ask me, you can try the cream on your own if you feel the urge. The picture you see here is from the bit that I tried just plain, but I think I prefer it with a small scoop of vanilla ice cream to make it a bit sweeter. Try it yourself and see!

Coffee Granita
2 tablespoons instant coffee
2 tablespoons raw sugar
2 tablespoons hot water
2 1/2 cups cold water
2 tablespoons rum or brandy

1. Place the coffee and sugar into a freezer container with a lid.
2. Pour over the hot water, stirring until dissolved.
3. Stir in the cold water together with the rum or brandy.
4. Freeze for at least 6 hours, stirring every 1-2 hours in order to create a grainy texture.

Coffee on FoodistaCoffee

4 thoughts on “Coffee Granita

  1. This looks really good.I found you from the foodie blog roll and I’d love to guide Foodista readers to your site. I hope you could add this coffee widget at the end of this post so we could add you in our list of food bloggers who blogged about coffee recipes,Thanks!

  2. Pingback: These are a few of my favorite things « A Poet in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

