Fresh Red Pepper Jam

Beautiful colors!

Don’t let the title of this recipe fool you, it’s got red, yellow AND orange bell peppers in it. It’s a gorgeous color and it’s a spicy little number to add to your recipe box. I froze a little bit of this for Jake to try when he returns in October. I mostly did this to see whether or not it would freeze well since it is not really a hard recipe to make. The instructions say that you should eat this in 1-2 weeks, and I am just curious as to whether or not I could make a HUGE batch of it sometime and freeze it in small baggies for later use. This is such a beautiful, colorful jam that I think it would also be perfect as a gift. This might be what folks get for Christmas from me, depending on how much time I have when December rolls around. This recipe came from my “Easy Vegetarian” cookbook, which is another great one on my shelf. Let’s face it…I don’t think I OWN any cookbooks that are not awesome in some way. That’s why I OWN them. Anyway, since Jake is gone for the summer to work I have a lot of free alone time, which is rather sad for me because I miss him, but it gives me plenty of time to do cooking experiments. So I decided there would be nothing better to do on a Friday afternoon than try out this rad lookin’ recipe. The recipe recommends serving this “on top of pasta or on top of toasted bread with shavings of cheese.” I tried the toasted bread and it was pretty fabulous (if you like bell peppers…and let’s face it…who doesn’t?). A great snack.

Fresh Red Pepper Jam
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 red bell peppers, halved, seeded, and thinly sliced-and-diced
2 yellow bell peppers, halved, seeded, and thinly sliced-and-diced
2 orange bell peppers, halved, seeded, and thinly sliced-and-diced
1 red chile, halved, seeded, and thinly sliced-and-diced
2 garlic cloves, peeled and sliced
1 tablespoon sugar
1 lemon, halved
salt and black pepper

1. Heat the oil in a large saucepan.
2. Add the peppers, chile, garlic, and sugar.
3. Squeeze the lemon juice into the pan, then add the squeezed halves. Stir.
4. Put a piece of wet, crumpled wax paper on top of the mixture in the pan and cover with a lid.
5. Cook gently over low heat for 35-40 minutes, until peppers are meltingly soft.
6. Remove the paper from the pan and increase the heat to reduce the liquid for about 3-4 minutes.
7. Add salt and pepper to taste and remove from the heat.
8. When cool, transfer to sterilized jars. Keep refrigerated and use within 1-2 weeks.

Fresh Red Pepper Jam

5 thoughts on “Fresh Red Pepper Jam

  1. Pingback: Red Pepper Soup with Balsamic Reduction « A Poet in the Kitchen

  2. Pingback: These are a few of my favorite things « A Poet in the Kitchen

  3. Pingback: Baked Apples with Maple-Walnut Sauce « A Poet in the Kitchen

  4. Pingback: Black Bean Spread | A Poet in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

