Sesame-Glazed Green Beans

Sesame-Glazed Green Beans

I found this recipe in my “Vegetarian Planet” cookbook. It reminds me a lot of a favorite green bean dish I ate all the time in China. I’ve included the instructions for this dish directly from the cookbook in which it has you using fresh green beans. I, however, happened to have frozen cut green beans in my freezer leftover from a previous recipe so I decided to use those up instead of buying fresh ones. Using the frozen green beans definitely cut down the prep and cooking time of this dish. That’s not saying a whole lot though, since this is a fairly simple and quick dish to make fresh anyway. I recommend making double the sauce and putting this all over a nice bed of steaming rice. I love the salty sesame flavor of this sauce and the whole time I was eating this I was just wishing for some rice. Of course, I could have made some, but by then the beans would’ve been cold. So I just decided to keep eating.

Sesame-Glazed Green Beans
1/2 pound green beans, trimmed
1/2 cup water
1/2 red bell pepper, seeded and cut into julienne strips
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1/2 teaspoon cornstarch
1 teaspoon dry mustard
1/4 teaspoon chile flakes
1 tablespoon honey
1 tablespoon dark sesame oil
1 tablespoon toasted sesame seeds

1. Put the green beans and water into a saucepan and bring the water to a boil.
2. Simmer the beans, uncovered, until almost tender and there is just a bit of water left. Then stir in the red pepper strips.
3. Simmer a little longer, until the beans are tender and all the water has evaporated. Take the pan off the heat.
4. Combine the soy sauce, cornstarch, dry mustard, chile flakes and honey in a small bowl.
5. Put the green beans back over medium-high heat and add the soy mixture.
6. Toss until the veggies are well coated, letting the sauce boil and thicken a bit.
7. Take the pan off the heat. Drizzle in the sesame oil and sprinkle on the toasted sesame seeds. Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

