Texas Ranger Roll-ups

Here’s another recipe coming to you from “PETA’s Vegan College Cookbook”. Why this recipe? Because you can never have too many ways to make tacos! If you own this cookbook (and you SHOULD own this if you’re a person who frequently forgets to go grocery shopping but can manage to keep some “easy staples” around or sometimes has little time to eat in your day) you’ll notice that I changed the recipe a bit. I added in some dried cilantro (fresh would be better, if you have it), and split the 2 teaspoons of garlic powder into 1 teaspoon of garlic powder and 1 teaspoon of onion powder. I also microwaved this stuff on high for 2 minutes (I felt like I had to at least PRETEND to cook it). Next time I also plan on adding in some paprika. Mmmmmm…paprika. I love that stuff. I also love this stuff. It was SO easy to make and is going to be a great base recipe for a more complex version in the future. I really loved the lime and orange juices in this. Their addition gave it this slight hint of fresh citrus. Really lovely. Next time I might actually use juice squeezed from a REAL orange just so I can grate some of the peel into this as well. Now that I think of it, I had half a red bell pepper that would’ve went well in this sitting in my fridge just waiting for me to use it! Darn! Missed opportunity! This was quite a lovely recipe for a hot hot HOT summer day in Tucson…limited effort AND I didn’t have to use the stove. Unlike tonight’s recipe…which you will see in the next day or two… For now enjoy this for a summer lunch!

Texas Ranger Roll-ups
1 15.5oz. can corn, drained
1 15oz. can black beans, drained and rinsed
2 tablespoons lime juice
2 tablespoons orange juice
2 teaspoons chopped chives
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon onion powder
1 tablespoon cilantro (dried or finely chopped)
1/8 teaspoon salt
4 tortillas
salsa

1. Mix the corn, black beans, lime juice, orange juice, chives, garlic powder and salt together.
2. Spoon the mixture into tortillas.
3. Roll them up tightly and top with salsa.

Texas Ranger Roll-ups

One thought on “Texas Ranger Roll-ups

Leave a Reply

