Kitchouri

Kitchouri

Here’s another rice recipe from the “1000 Vegetarian Recipes from Around the World” cookbook. I really loved the idea of using vegetable juice and bouillon to cook the rice and lentils. After reading this recipe all I could think was: “Why didn’t YOU think of this FIRST?!” Just more proof that it is always good to keep learning new recipes and discovering new ways to cook “old” things. Obviously I read this recipe before making the fried rice with spicy beans recipe from a few days ago. That recipe is another good example of taking what I’ve learned and applying it in another recipe…with delicious results. I’ve been excited to make this kitchouri recipe for about 2 weeks now when I first flipped to it in my cookbook. I had to finish off some other ingredients sitting in my fridge first, but I’ve had the vegetable juice (not something I usually keep in my house because I’m not a fan of its consistency as a drink) sitting in my fridge for a week waiting for the day when I could yank this cookbook off the shelf and pull this together. This recipe is going to be great heated up for my lunch tomorrow. I may even stuff the leftovers into a tortilla and eat it like a burrito.

Kitchouri
2 tablespoons butter
1 red onion, finely chopped
1 garlic clove, crushed
1/2 celery stalk, finely chopped
1 teaspoon turmeric
1/2 teaspoon garam masala
1 green chili, seeded and finely chopped
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1 tablespoon chopped cilantro
generous 1/2 cup basmati rice, rinsed under cold water
generous 1/2 cup green lentils
1 1/4 cups vegetable juice
2 1/2 cups vegetable bouillon

1. Heat the butter in a large heavy pan.
2. Add the onion, garlic and celery to the pan and cook for about 5 minutes, until soft.
3. Add the turmeric, garam masala, chopped green chili, cumin, and cilantro.
4. Cook over moderate heat, stirring constantly for about 1 minute until fragrant.
5. Add the rice and lentils and cook for 1 minute, until the rice is translucent.
6. Pour the vegetable juice and bouillon into the pan and bring to a boil over medium heat.
7. Cover and simmer over low heat, stirring occasionally, for about 20 minutes or until the lentils are cooked.
8. Transfer to a warmed serving dish and serve immediately.

4 thoughts on “Kitchouri

  1. um, loving the number of dairy free recipes lately! I think you pretty much just took care of next week’s meal planning for me. This Lentil dish, spicy rice, and that bbq chickpea thing are all going on my agenda.

  2. I’ve lost my favorite Vegetarian Cookbook in a move a few months back and Kitchouri was one of our favorite recipes. THIS is IT!!! HOORAY!!! Who is the author of your cookbook? I need to re-purchase it! THANK YOU!!!!

Leave a Reply

