Erin’s Microwave Tomato Tofu Noodle Soup

Erin's Microwave Tomato Tofu Noodle Soup

Jake’s cabin in Alaska is a dry cabin. I am not a huge fan. I suppose it would be easier if I had grown up in that sort of situation but since I haven’t I often just find it frustrating. I’m always really glad to get back to my own home at the end of the summer. In the meantime I try to look at it as a challenge to live for a month or two without something I’m so used to. Anyway, since it is a dry cabin, doing dishes is also more annoying than usual. I don’t want to use up all the water in the house, but I do want to keep things clean. So often when I’m up here in Alaska I find myself either not eating breakfast and lunch at all or eating crackers for lunch, just so I can save myself some dish washing. This means I lose weight pretty fast up here, which is kind of awesome. Today however, has been gloomy and rainy and I was working on finishing up my 2 papers for IRLS 504 so I decided that I really wanted to eat something hot. I wanted to invent a soup that would be healthy, easy to make, and cooked in one bowl in the microwave so I would not have to use a lot of dishes. You can see in the photo for this entry how gloomy it was for most of the day. The following recipe is what I came up with. It isn’t anything amazing or groundbreaking, but it was good. Since I was trying to keep the mess down to a single bowl I was a bit limited on what I could put into it. If I had a really large bowl and a really large microwave and could put anything into it that I wanted I would’ve added some beans (maybe kidney beans or a nice bunch of navy beans), spinach, mushrooms, etc. Try experimenting with what other veggies you put into yours and post your trials in the comments below!

Erin’s Microwave Tomato Tofu Noodle Soup
1 cup egg noodles
1 15oz. can diced peeled tomatoes with juice
1/2 cup water
1 tablespoon Italian seasoning
1/2 teaspoon onion powder
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
salt and pepper, to taste
1/2 can corn kernels
1/2 block firm tofu, cut into chunks

1. Combine the egg noodles and 1/2 the can of tomatoes in a bowl with the water. Microwave on high for 5 minutes, watching closely to make sure it doesn’t bubble over.
2. Add in the rest of the tomatoes, Italian seasoning, onion powder, garlic powder, red pepper flakes, salt, pepper, corn kernels, and tofu. Mix well.
3. Microwave on high for 2-4 minutes, watching closely to make sure it doesn’t bubble over.
4. Top with nothing or something like crumbled crackers or maybe parmesan cheese and enjoy!

One thought on “Erin’s Microwave Tomato Tofu Noodle Soup

Leave a Reply

