Spaghetti with Halibut, Shrimp and Chili Cream Sauce

Fish in the frying pan...

The idea for this recipe came from a cookbook in Jake’s house. However, the original recipe was for tilapia, which we didn’t have in the house. What we DID have was a chunk of halibut and 2 pounds of shrimp. So I decided to fry up the halibut and some of the shrimp and toss them and the chili cream sauce in spaghetti. It was a really good move. I actually asked Jake to keep an eye on the halibut because I’m still a little nervous about cooking fish. I feel that fish is really easy to screw up and I am just not 100% comfortable doing it all on my own without someone there to make sure I’m not butchering the job. It ended up being really delicious and very simple to make. Jake liked it so much that he requested I make it again another time. He ate so much of it that he went right from the dining room table to the couch where he had to take a nap because he was in such a food coma (picture below for your amusement). Haha! I made a double batch of the chili cream sauce because I was technically adding more “other stuff” to the recipe. I probably could’ve made a triple batch and been fine…then again I also think I made a tad bit too much spaghetti to go along with this. It doesn’t really matter because spaghetti is always good (Confession: sometimes I even eat leftover cold spaghetti for breakfast) and always usable. Next time I make this I’m going to put MORE chili powder in it, maybe even try it with a different kind of chili powder like chipotle. I actually wish that I had some chipotle chili powder here to try the recipe again. The cream sauce came out almost identical to the chipotle chili sauce that they serve at El Capitan in Flagstaff in their chipotle cream shrimp tacos. This is great news for me as I LOVE those things. This is also great news for our friends Matt and Jette, who first introduced us to that place and who recommended the tacos to me the very first time we went there. In other words, I am incredibly glad I tried this recipe. It was EASY to make (Oh man…SO EASY!), delicious enough for the boy to request it AGAIN, and versatile enough that I can use the sauce for pretty much anything I want in the future.

Spaghetti with Halibut, Shrimp and Chili Cream Sauce

Spaghetti with Halibut, Shrimp and Chili Cream Sauce
1 fresh or frozen halibut fillet
2 cups shrimp
2 tablespoons cornmeal
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
Nonstick cooking spray
1 teaspoon cooking oil
1-2 handfuls spaghetti
2 teaspoons butter
2 teaspoons all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon chili powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
3/4 cup half-and-half milk
2 tablespoons fresh or dried parsley (or cilantro)

1. Thaw fish (if frozen). Rinse and pat it dry with paper towels. Cut into pieces if you wish, or break it apart after cooking.
2. In a small bowl, stir together cornmeal and flour. Sprinkle over both sides of the fish pieces.
3. Lightly coat an unheated nonstick skillet with cooking spray. Then add the oil to the skillet. Preheat over medium-high heat.
4. Add the fish pieces and the shrimp. Cook over medium to medium-high heat for 4-6 minutes or till fish flakes easily when tested with a fork, turning once.
5. Take the skillet off the heat when the fish and shrimp is finished cooking.
6. Meanwhile, in a small-medium pot (depending on how much spaghetti you want to make), cook the spaghetti in boiling salted water until cooked to your preference.
7. Drain the spaghetti and add it to the skillet with the fish and shrimp. Add the parsley (especially if it is dried parsley) and toss the spaghetti and fish and shrimp around a bit. This should break up the fish into pieces if you didn’t cut it before.
8. Rinse the pot you cooked the spaghetti in. Return it to the stove to make the sauce. Melt the butter and stir in the 2 teaspoons flour, the chili powder, salt and cumin.
9. Stir in the half-and-half. Cook and stir until thickened and bubbly. Cook and stir one minute more.
10. To serve, plate the fish and shrimp that were tossed with the spaghetti and parsley and pour some of the sauce over the top.

Jake in a food coma on the couch after eating a HUUUUUGE plate of this awesome stuff!

One thought on “Spaghetti with Halibut, Shrimp and Chili Cream Sauce

  1. Pingback: Simple Seasoned Black Beans « A Poet in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

